Should I render 1440x1080 or 1920x1080, from HV20 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old May 6th, 2007, 02:10 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Sweden, Stockholm
Posts: 469
Should I render 1440x1080 or 1920x1080, from HV20

Hi guys,

As the title says, what should I choose? I belive I should use 1440x1080 and 1.333 pixelformat - generating an "Amorphobic" wide video?

Vegas tells me that I'm working with 1920x1080 square...

Am a bit confused :-) help me!

I'm rendering a M2T files using MC codec built in vegas.

// Lazze
__________________
Sony HDR-CX130,Canon 5DMKII,i7 930@4.0, 12gb memory, 3x SSD + 2x1Tb(stripe), Geforce 480, Dual 24", Win 7 x64
Lars Siden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 6th, 2007, 03:30 PM   #2
Jubal 28
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Wilmington, NC
Posts: 872
If you're going back to tape, you need it to be 1440x1080, 1.333.

If you're rendering for the computer, you can do it either way. Works out to exactly the same.
David Jimerson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 7th, 2007, 11:40 AM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 293
There's a way to set your project properties to match your (captured) clip properties. I don't remember exactly how I did it, but once you do, you're good to go (the HV20 clips captured in Vegas 7 show up as 1440X1080, 1.333 pixels, HDV standard I believe).
Peter J Alessandria is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 7th, 2007, 07:57 PM   #4
Tourist
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 3
A question for David

David I watched your video on Vegas, nice work. Just have a question if I capture footage shot at 24p with my canon HV20 using Cineform's Neo HDV the intermediate files can be viewed in a 16x9 aspect ratio. After editing if I use Cineform's codec to render at 1440X1080p 24p Pixel ratio 1.44 and view the file in WMP the aspect ratio changes back to 4x3, any idea why? I know you can set WMP to play it correctly but why is the file aspect ratio not identified corretly?
Rahul Purohit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 7th, 2007, 10:57 PM   #5
Jubal 28
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Wilmington, NC
Posts: 872
Good question. Not sure yet -- every media player I've tried it in (including a couple from Nero) does the same as WMP.

GSPot identifies it as 1440x1080 at 1.333, so that info is in the file.
David Jimerson is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:10 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network