Bug? Selective prerender renders evering in HDV at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old May 14th, 2007, 03:41 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Clermont, FL.
Posts: 941
Bug? Selective prerender renders evering in HDV

I don't know if this is a general bug or just something wierd on my system, but when I'm working on an HDV project, "selectively prerender video" renders out the entire timeline.

I posted this on the Sony forum and nobody responded so maybe its just my system. Whatever is going on, it's a pretty major problem for me. Can somebody try this on their system and see if it's just me?
Laurence Kingston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 14th, 2007, 04:10 PM   #2
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
Since HDV is MPEG video and Vegas always renders MPEG video, I'm not surprised it would also "pre-render" it. I don't believe "pre-render" will be an advantage to you with HDV.
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 14th, 2007, 04:18 PM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Clermont, FL.
Posts: 941
Quote:
Originally Posted by Edward Troxel View Post
Since HDV is MPEG video and Vegas always renders MPEG video, I'm not surprised it would also "pre-render" it. I don't believe "pre-render" will be an advantage to you with HDV.
Actually I was talking about projects using the Cineform Codec. I'm using the new Neo HDV which smartrenders just like SD DV. It would be useful to do this for exactly the same reasons you would want to do it with regular DV codec stuff.
Laurence Kingston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 17th, 2007, 09:05 PM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Clermont, FL.
Posts: 941
I guess this is becoming more of a feature request than a bug report. It turns out that Vegas only "selectively prerenders" standard definition DV projects. It isn't currently an HDV feature.

It sure would be useful to be able to use this feature, especially with smart-rendering Neo codec AVIs. After all, even an older computer like my P4 3.06 is plenty fast enough to preview SD transitions. It's really only on HDV that I even need this feature.
Laurence Kingston is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:39 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network