Basic Sound Question at

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old May 22nd, 2007, 07:03 AM   #1
Major Player
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 206
Basic Sound Question

I'm a Mac/FCP user. Hearing how much you guys love Vegas, I advised a PC friend to buy/download Vegas Platinum for his racing videos. He's muddling through pretty good except for sound. I paid him a visit the other day and looked at Vegas. Obviously, the interface and workings were rather foreign to me.

The problem:
He's not getting audio when the clips are played back in the time line. I do see the audio meter moving, but it looks low. What I really don't see is sound waves down in the audio tracks.

So I start thinking FCP, and look at his preferences. I change external playback monitor to none, but that doesn't do it. I look at how he captured, and his settings were for audio and video. I looked at the Vegas capture window and played back some of his captured clips in that window and heard the audio.

It is as if there is a video file and an audio file but the reference movie in the time line isn't pointing to the the audio file and I'm not finding the audio file.

The other things I know, is he's using a laptop and he's capturing from USB instead of firewire.

So the basic question is: How does he capture video and audio so that it plays back in the timeline during editing. I did see him put an mp3 file in the music track and it played during editing, so I don't think its a sound card issue. And I thought it was strange that Vegas played mp3 because FCP seems limited to wave and Aif.

Scott Routt

"Talk is cheap unless you have a lot of audio toys"
Scott Routt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 22nd, 2007, 07:23 AM   #2
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: santa fe, nm
Posts: 3,264
Images: 10
Hard to tell from the info you've provided, but, one guess is that he recorded his audio at extremely low levels. On thing to try is to add the "Normalize" function to the timeline. If there's any data there, it should raise the volume to be heard.
Bill Ravens is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 22nd, 2007, 12:15 PM   #3
Major Player
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Sacramento, Elk Grove. Calif
Posts: 305
Originally Posted by Scott Routt View Post
. I looked at the Vegas capture window and played back some of his captured clips in that window and heard the audio.,

I believe when you end your capture session the clips are automatically added to the project media bin. If you right click on a clip and 'open in trimmer' and play it from the trimmer do you hear the sound or see the wave form in the audio track? Yes? Then add the clip to the time line. Do you see the wave form or hear the audio? When the clip is added you should get an audio and a video track. If you can see the audio track but no wave form then right click the audio track and 'switches-normalize'. If this brings up a wave form then the audio was rcorded at too low a volume. If it does not then no audio was recorded.(Thats probably not the case since you say you can hear it in the capture window) It is also possible that the output volume in the mixer 'view-mixer' has been decreased too far, or the mute switch in the header has been activated (usually changes the color of the track). There is also a volume slider in the header that could be misadjusted or a volume envelope has been added. The nice thing about Vegas is that there are a number of ways to do something but in the same vane ther area number of ways something can be off also.
Good luck
Puttin the wet stuff on the red stuff!
Terry Esslinger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 22nd, 2007, 04:36 PM   #4
Inner Circle
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Hampshire, UK
Posts: 2,181
Does he have more than one sound device?

I wonder if he has sound via the motherboard as well as sound from a different device, eg a pcmcia card (as I have on my laptop). Might be worth checking that the sound is being routed to the correct output (ie the one with speakers attached!).

If memory serves you can check this by looking at the mixer view and clicking on one of the icons just above the levels meters (sorry - don't have Vegas to hand so can't check).

Might also want to check Options/Preferences/Audio Device (I think) and see if all is well there in terms of which device is being used.

Good luck.

Ian . . .
Ian Stark is offline   Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

Omega Broadcast
(512) 251-7778
Austin, TX

(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

(800) 238-8480
Glendale, CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:41 PM.

DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2015 The Digital Video Information Network