Canon HV20 as preview device at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old May 30th, 2007, 11:06 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Johannesburg, South Africa
Posts: 26
Canon HV20 as preview device

Hi
Could anyone please point me in the right direction in setting up a Canon HV20 as an external video preview device for Vegas 7. The camera is recognised by Vegas and captures without any problems; it is recognised by Windows XP SP2 as AV/C Tape Device. It also captures with Premiere Pro 2.
I've got it hooked up to the computer with firewire, but if I go Preferences --> Preview Device --> OHCI Compliant IEEE 1394 the camera is not there. It just says "Device unavailable".
When playing footage off the timeline (footage which has just been captured using the HV20), nothing appears on the HV20's lcd.
One of the main reasons I bought the HV20 is to serve as a deck and link to an external tv screen for monitoring.
Any help would be greatly appreciated. And I only got the HV20 yesterday, so there may be something I overlooked while reading the manual all night.

Thanks

Carl,
Jo'burg
Carl Mischke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 30th, 2007, 11:36 PM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Elk Grove CA
Posts: 6,838
Unless you are running DV through it, you likely won't have success. I went through this with the FX1, and though I haven't tried it with my HV20, I don't think results will be any different. The only way it works is actually rendering for the transfer to tape.... which is a hold different file structure than what is being edited.
__________________
Chris J. Barcellos
Chris Barcellos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 31st, 2007, 12:28 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Johannesburg, South Africa
Posts: 26
spot on

Chris
You're right --- it works perfectly with DV. Nothing happens with HDV at all. Pity.
Thanks.

Carl
Jo'burg
Carl Mischke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 31st, 2007, 12:48 PM   #4
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Stockton, UT
Posts: 5,648
No HDV camcorder/deck can be used as an HD pass-thru device. It's a limitation of the format/decode.
__________________
Douglas Spotted Eagle/Spot
Author, producer, composer
Certified Sony Vegas Trainer
http://www.vasst.com
Douglas Spotted Eagle is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:59 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network