Problems Rendering Project as One File in Vegas 6.0 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old June 4th, 2007, 01:50 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: McArthur, CA
Posts: 119
Problems Rendering Project as One File in Vegas 6.0

Hi everybody,

I'm currently working with a DV project in Vegas 6.0 that is about and hour long and full of high quality sound layers. Anyway, whenever I render it on the highest quality settings, it always gets separated into four files that can seamlessly interlock into one file. But, I don't know how to get these files together so they could play all at once from a single button action. I want to at least be able to combine them in DVD Architect 3.0. I tried combining the rendered files in a new Vegas project and then re-rendered them but they still got separated into four files. I know lowering the quality may help but I don't want to do that since I have loads of space on the external hard drive I use for rendering. Is there a way I can render my project into one file or maybe combine my multiple files in a practical way for DVD authoring? Any input would be appreciated.

Thanks,
Tristan
Tristan Howard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 4th, 2007, 02:03 PM   #2
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Stockton, UT
Posts: 5,648
Put all four files into your DVD A project window.
Put the first one as a button on your workspace/menu.
Use end actions to move from one file to the next.
Why are you creating four files from one timeline? Is your external FAT 32 (most are, for easy Mac compatibility)?
If so, you may want to reformat it prior to next project.
__________________
Douglas Spotted Eagle/Spot
Author, producer, composer
Certified Sony Vegas Trainer
http://www.vasst.com
Douglas Spotted Eagle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 4th, 2007, 03:34 PM   #3
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
If the files are all 4Gig each, I'm in agreement with Spot - the hard drive must be formatted as FAT32. FAT32 doesn't allow files over 4Gig in size so they must be split. If you render to an NTFS drive instead, it can be a single larger file.
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 4th, 2007, 04:21 PM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: chattanooga, tn
Posts: 721
I agree with both Spot and Edward--sounds like a FAT32 file system limitation issue to me.

Spot suggests that you reformat the drive using an NTFS file system, and while this would definitely resolve the issue (if we're diagnosing it properly in the first place of course), you don't necessarily have to do a complete reformat if you want to keep the existing data on that drive.

You can switch a drive's file system from FAT32 to NTFS with a simple DOS command and avoid a complete reformat. Note that this is a one-way process, i.e. you can easily switch from FAT32 to NTFS, but to switch in the other direction, a reformat is necessary.

EDIT: OK, I did a little googling and here's how the conversion is done (you might want to google this yourself and get a second opinion--just a word of warning):
Quote:
Originally Posted by a page i found via google
The conversion should not cause you to lose any data; however, I certainly would backup before large scale conversions like this.

1. Click Start
2. Select Run from the Start menu
3. Type cmd in the textbox and click OK
4. In the command window that opens type the following:

convert c: /fs:ntfs


(If you want to convert any other drive, change the c: to the drive of choice.)
__________________
-->jarrod whaley.
www.oakstreetfilms.com

Last edited by Jarrod Whaley; June 4th, 2007 at 04:28 PM. Reason: found instructions
Jarrod Whaley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 5th, 2007, 01:33 AM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: McArthur, CA
Posts: 119
Hi everybody,

Thanks for the info. I'll have to look into reformatting my drive. I didn't know it was a drive format limitation. I'm pretty sure my drive is formatted as FAT32 so that's probably the problem. I think I may try rendering my file in my computer's main C drive and then if that's a single file, put that into my external hard drive so I can access my project on other computers.

-Tristan
Tristan Howard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 5th, 2007, 08:41 AM   #6
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tristan Howard
I think I may try rendering my file in my computer's main C drive and then if that's a single file, put that into my external hard drive so I can access my project on other computers.
If the external is still FAT32, that won't work as you can't copy a file larger than 4Gig onto a FAT32 drive (FAT32 *STILL* has the 4Gig file size limitation - no matter what).
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 5th, 2007, 03:08 PM   #7
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: McArthur, CA
Posts: 119
Yep, I tried copying a single rendered file today and it didn't work. I'll have to reformat my drive or learn how to make a single scene selection menu with four files on DVD Architect 3.0.
Tristan Howard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 5th, 2007, 05:23 PM   #8
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: McArthur, CA
Posts: 119
Hey Jarrod and everybody else,

Thank you so much. I was able to get my drive formatted from FAT 32 to NTFS was able to copy my full project into the drive as one file. I ended up using the instructions on this website: http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/l...d67289a48.aspx. They're about about the same as what is posted on this thread. The main thing I had trouble with was not knowing the name of the drive volume but after trying several names, I just checked the properties of my drive and used what the title with a cursor next to it was under the "General" heading, which for me happened to be "SEA_DISC."

-Tristan
Tristan Howard is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:31 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network