importing mov. files into vegas 7? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old June 5th, 2007, 10:39 AM   #1
New Boot
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Posts: 12
importing mov. files into vegas 7?

Hi,
I'm trying to import video in mov. format (captured into FCP originally) into Vegas, but with no success. I understand Vegas accepts other formats but maybe there is something I need to set up beforehand ; I just can't figure it out. Any help would be greatly appreciated! Thanks.
N
Nicolas Gulino is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 5th, 2007, 11:05 AM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Windsor, ON Canada
Posts: 2,765
This is an obvious question but I have to ask it anyway.
Do you have a current version of QuickTime installed on your computer?
Mike Kujbida is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 5th, 2007, 11:24 AM   #3
New Boot
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Posts: 12
Yes, I just downloaded the free version (not the Pro). In fact, I've just noticed that I can't even view the file on Quick Time, which may be why Vegas can't access it. The file is only 2MB, so it shouldn't be a question of size. I may need a codec... ???
Still working at it....

N
Nicolas Gulino is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 5th, 2007, 12:07 PM   #4
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Stockton, UT
Posts: 5,648
you've got to install the authoring components during install. Search these forums for more information, but the upshot is, when installing the free version, you must install the authoring components.
Vegas and Movie Studio both read QT in a variety of codecs.
__________________
Douglas Spotted Eagle/Spot
Author, producer, composer
Certified Sony Vegas Trainer
http://www.vasst.com
Douglas Spotted Eagle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 5th, 2007, 12:13 PM   #5
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Windsor, ON Canada
Posts: 2,765
Quote:
Originally Posted by Douglas Spotted Eagle View Post
you've got to install the authoring components during install.
Douglas, I used to get that option with previous versions of the free QT but since version 7 came along, I'm not getting any installation options whatsoever. Is this normal?
Mike Kujbida is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 5th, 2007, 12:19 PM   #6
New Boot
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Posts: 12
Are these QT authoring components applicable to importing as well as rendering? (most questions ask about rendering to QT; I need to import from QT--mov.-- to Vegas in order to edit). Thanks for your help.
Nicolas Gulino is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:48 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network