Applying an effect to several clips at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old June 7th, 2007, 05:19 AM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Moreton in Marsh, United Kingdom
Posts: 96
Applying an effect to several clips

Hi - some workflow questions about applying an "overall" effect to several HD clips in Vegas 7 (I'm migrating from Premiere Pro 2):

1) Regardless of whether or not there are video plugins on each clip, can I apply a further "overall" video plugin to a set of clips in the timeline (so I can give the edit an overall "look", for example)? The only way I've been able to do this is to render the edit with the individual clips' plugins applied, reimport the rendered file, and then apply a plugin or two to the rendered file to give it the overall look I want.

2) Is there an easy way of copying a GROUP of plugins from one clip to another so I don't have to reenter them individually?

3) By doing an m2t render of a finished edit, importing it back into Vegas, applying another plugin to this finished clip and rerendering it to m2t, am I losing quality? In other words, is there a "generation loss" with m2t files?

I'm used to working with .avi files so this is all a bit new to me...

Thanks for any help and I hope the questions make sense - they're sort of related to each other.

Mark
Mark Harmer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 7th, 2007, 05:46 AM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 6,609
1) take the clips or events you want the overlook on and put them on their own track and set your FXs at TRACK LEVEL. Done ;-)

2) If you have a group of FXs on 1 clip or event and wish to use it on other clips or events simply COPY and then PASTE EVENT ATTRIBUTES.
You can either Right Click and COPY from the menu or cntl C of course but to PAste Event Attributes you have to Right Click and from the Menu use Paste Event Attributes. Done ;-)

Don
Don Bloom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 7th, 2007, 05:59 AM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Moreton in Marsh, United Kingdom
Posts: 96
Quote:
Originally Posted by Don Bloom View Post
1) take the clips or events you want the overlook on and put them on their own track and set your FXs at TRACK LEVEL. Done ;-)

2) If you have a group of FXs on 1 clip or event and wish to use it on other clips or events simply COPY and then PASTE EVENT ATTRIBUTES.
You can either Right Click and COPY from the menu or cntl C of course but to PAste Event Attributes you have to Right Click and from the Menu use Paste Event Attributes. Done ;-)

Don
Brilliant - Done!! These both work hugely well. Thank you!
Mark Harmer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 7th, 2007, 06:29 AM   #4
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Hampshire, UK
Posts: 2,205
To add to Don's answer, you may also find that saving a group of effects as a plug-in chain may also be useful.

'Copy/Paste Event Attributes' also copies effects keyframes, pan/crop settings and velocity envelopes (and other stuff - see the help documentation for details) so for occasions when you only want to re-use a group of effects (and their settings) and not the other attributes, saving as a plug-in chain may be the answer.

In addition, you can also add effects to the main video bus which will affect the entire project, so that gives you effects at event, track and project level (in addition to media level effects).

On the subject of compression, personally I always render uncompressed (other than for test previews, perhaps) until the project is complete and locked off. Then I will make other compressed format versions from the uncompressed master. Doesn't specifically answer your question but might give food for thought.

Cheers,

Ian . . .
Ian Stark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 7th, 2007, 08:04 AM   #5
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
To expand on this answer some more, effects can be applied:

1) To the single event which will only apply to that one event.
2) To the TRACK which will apply to all events on that track.
3) To the PROJECT which will apply to all output
4) To the MEDIA (in the Project Media) which will apply to that one piece of media no matter where it's used on the timeline.

Vegas is very flexible when it comes to applying effects.
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 7th, 2007, 11:14 AM   #6
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 3,259
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark Harmer View Post
3) By doing an m2t render of a finished edit, importing it back into Vegas, applying another plugin to this finished clip and rerendering it to m2t, am I losing quality? In other words, is there a "generation loss" with m2t files?...
Yes. Don't do it!

M2T is so highly compressed that generation loss is quite pronounced. With the excellent suggestions above on where to apply filters and plugins your workflow will change so that you don't need to render an intermediate the way you used to.

However, if you need to render sequences or projects in the future, M2T should probably only be used to lay back to HDV tape. For intermediate renders, try AVI|HDV 60i Intermediate|Cineform, or AVI|HDV 60i YUV for best results.
Seth Bloombaum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 14th, 2007, 11:16 AM   #7
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Moreton in Marsh, United Kingdom
Posts: 96
Thanks, all, for your really great advice and tips which have now got me "cooking" with Vegas. It's made the transition from Premiere Pro really painless.
Mark Harmer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 1st, 2007, 05:33 PM   #8
Trustee
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Gilbert, AZ
Posts: 1,896
Speaking of rendering uncompressed, I've noticed that my final uncompressed (avi) renders from Vegas , are a LOT brighter (more washed out looking) than a final render to Cineform?

I'm editing JVC HD100 footage captured Cineform. The Cineform image appears to match what I'm visually seeing in the preview window of Vegas.
Steven Thomas is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:39 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network