Monitoring at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old June 7th, 2007, 07:56 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 83
Monitoring

Still can't figure out how to monitor HD footage on a HD monitor with vegas 7
William LiPera is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 8th, 2007, 03:32 AM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 4,750
Use the secondary windows display as your preview device if using a computer monitor.

Or get an Aja Xena (or Blackmagic) card and use the HD-SDI output off that. Check that the *drivers* plus the hardware card is compatible with your system.

2- If that does not answer your question, then please be more specific as to:
A- What monitor you would like to use
B- What you are trying to do
Glenn Chan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 8th, 2007, 10:01 AM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 83
monitor

Have used the blackmagic HD board extreme, the right drivers, but have used the component out to a HD monitor. The image is choppy. Did not try to confgure the HD-SDI.
William LiPera is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 8th, 2007, 03:47 PM   #4
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 4,750
What framerate does it say in video preview?

Did you turn the live scopes off? Bypass video FX to see if performance goes up? Drive array fast enough?
Glenn Chan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 8th, 2007, 04:31 PM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 83
monitor

Did you turn the live scopes off? Bypass video FX to see if performance goes up?
Have never turned scopes on, never used video fx, and how would you test the disk array to see if it's fast enough? thanks
William LiPera is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 8th, 2007, 09:43 PM   #6
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 4,750
Quote:
Is My Disk Array Fast Enough?
Because disk systems are always changing, the best recommendation for disk array options is your dealer. Often dealers will know of other lower cost, and faster disk solutions because they can keep up more easily with the many brands and options available worldwide.

DeckLink users can run the Blackmagic Disk Speed Test application which is included with the DeckLink driver software. This utility takes measures the speed of your disks and displays how many frames per second of video you could do in standard definition (NTSC & PAL) and high definition. We recommend testing your disk array with Blackmagic Disk Speed Test as many other disk utilities do not take in to account factors such as the RAM cache which may be used in some disk arrays. Blackmagic Disk Speed Test can be used on any Mac or PC which has a DeckLink card.
http://www.blackmagic-design.com/sup....asp?techID=62

2- What types of media are you using?

3- What framerate does it say in video preview?
Glenn Chan is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:57 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network