Vegas 7 project file at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old June 11th, 2007, 09:47 AM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: NY, NY
Posts: 55
Vegas 7 project file

I just installed Vegas 6 + the upgrade to 7.0 ($249 from B&H).

First I uninstalled the Trial version (7d) I was using. Then I installed 6, then the 7 upgrade from the CDs, and finally I upgraded with the 7.0d version downloaded from Sony's website. Everything appears fine, however, two quick questions:

1. When I look at my project files, under Type they say "Sony Vegas 7.0 TRIAL." Is this a problem?
2. Do I have to leave Vegas 6.0 installed on my computer? I plan to only use 7d so it's a waste of space to keep 6 installed.
Ben Hayflick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 13th, 2007, 10:29 AM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Hampshire, UK
Posts: 2,205
Hi Ben,

Only a guess but if you save the files again in the full v7 does the trial info go away? I'm just thinking that maybe these are files you saved when running the trial.

Not aware of any reason why you would need to retain 6. I keep previous versions for a few months until I'm happy with the update then ditch them.

Ian . . .
Ian Stark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 13th, 2007, 04:16 PM   #3
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
You went through a lot of unnecessary work. Instead of all of the uninstalling and installing, simply entering the Vegas 7 code in the original 7.0d demo installation would have been sufficient.
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 13th, 2007, 06:23 PM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Ashford, AL
Posts: 937
Also, Vegas is up to version 7.0e. You might want to just download and install that to bring yourself current.
Guy Bruner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 13th, 2007, 10:44 PM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: NY, NY
Posts: 55
Ian, nope. But a fresh install did the trick. The project files are now "Sony Vegas 7.0." I've deleted 6.0 (and the media manager) and all's well.

Edward, where were you when I needed you most? ;)

Guy, I've heard bad things about 7e. Not the case?
Ben Hayflick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 14th, 2007, 06:54 AM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Ashford, AL
Posts: 937
Ben,
I haven't had problems with 7.0e, except I can't edit my AVCHD files with it because Sony is procrastinating on including Panasonic AVCHD. What kind of problems are being reported...and where. I've not seen any complaints.
Guy Bruner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 14th, 2007, 12:36 PM   #7
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: NY, NY
Posts: 55
I read that people who'd upgraded from 7d to 7e were having all kinds of problems (crashes and so on - can't remember what exactly). I read that either on the Vegas forums on dvinfo.net and/or dvxuser.com. People who'd installed 7e then wanted to roll back to 7d, which was problematic until somebody posted a link to all the versions of Vegas somewhere on Sony's site.

So I just decided to stick with 7d, which eveyone seemed to say was the most solid version. Should I reconsider? What advantage does 7e bring over 7d?

Last edited by Ben Hayflick; June 14th, 2007 at 12:37 PM. Reason: typo
Ben Hayflick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 14th, 2007, 12:42 PM   #8
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Ashford, AL
Posts: 937
Nothing significant unless you want to edit Sony AVCHD files.
Guy Bruner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 14th, 2007, 12:45 PM   #9
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: NY, NY
Posts: 55
Thanks. I've got no need for AVCHD for the moment (Canon XHA1 owner).
Ben Hayflick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 14th, 2007, 01:23 PM   #10
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Vineyard, Utah
Posts: 191
I upgraded to E from D and every time I'd load up a project, one that I had started in D, E would freeze up while building the peaks for all the audio. I switched back to D, and haven't had a problem since.

SB
Steven Bills is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:07 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network