HDV Clip Limit?? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old June 20th, 2007, 12:36 PM   #1
Tourist
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: San Marcos, TX
Posts: 3
HDV/m2t Clip amount Limit??

I started working on my first project shot with my Canon xh-a1 in vegas and have hit a problem.

It seems that after importing about 70 m2t clips into my project, vegas gives up, complains about lack of memory (which there's still plenty available according to task manager) and eventually crashes. I started this with 7.0e. I did some reading and saw E had some issues, so I un-installed and reverted to 7.0d and still having the same problems.

I also read that this was a well known bug in 6.0 - so I removed my old version of 6.0 as well. Still having the issues.

Has anyone else ran into this?

I'm running on a C2D E4300 with 2GB of ram - surely this is enough? If i have less clips than the threshold (around 70) everything works fine.

Thanks for any help!

Last edited by Matthew Niemann; June 20th, 2007 at 02:32 PM.
Matthew Niemann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 20th, 2007, 01:04 PM   #2
Tourist
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 4
That's a lot of clips. Have you tried using sub-projects? Split your project up into 2 different ones then start a 3rd and put the 2 sub projects into it?
__________________
Chad
Canon HV20/Rebel XT/Vegas 7e
Chad Bolton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 20th, 2007, 01:09 PM   #3
Tourist
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: San Marcos, TX
Posts: 3
I guess I could - but it seems annoying to do so. I've read of people having over 1000 clips.. these are all small too.. most 5-20 seconds. There's got to be something I'm overlooking?
Matthew Niemann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 27th, 2007, 04:07 AM   #4
New Boot
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Ca
Posts: 15
I'm having the same problem and I'm running with 3 gigs of Ram.
Tad Ryan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 27th, 2007, 10:56 AM   #5
Tourist
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: San Marcos, TX
Posts: 3
I ended up converting them 50 at a time to Cineform (which i was planning on doing anyway) and they all imported fine (over 350).
Matthew Niemann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 27th, 2007, 12:41 PM   #6
New Boot
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Ca
Posts: 15
What would you do in the case of rendering to wmvHD?
Tad Ryan is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:42 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network