Vegas Video discussions from 2004 (Q3Q4) - Page 10 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old July 12th, 2004, 11:28 PM   #136
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 4,750
Horizontal Flip/Flop- How?

I'm trying to flip an image left to right. This comes in handy sometimes for video editing (i.e. re-using footage, getting around problems with crossing the axis). I'm sure it's something simple but it's not immediately apparent in the pan/crop controls.
Glenn Chan is offline  
Old July 13th, 2004, 12:46 AM   #137
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 2,898
Wow Douglass, that's big news- a huuuuuuge chain like Walmart is distributing a VASST book- awesome! Congrats.

http://www.walmart.com/catalog/produ...A3920%3A105315
Glen Elliott is offline  
Old July 13th, 2004, 12:53 AM   #138
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Robina Queensland Australia
Posts: 73
Glenn:

I'm not in front of my NLE PC right now, but from memory, when I did this I used track motion, and grabbed an edge and dragged it to the other side, flipping it.

HTH

ANDY
__________________
'This one goes to eleven'
Nigel Tufnell
Andy Shrimpton is offline  
Old July 13th, 2004, 01:01 AM   #139
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Fort Collins, Colorado
Posts: 166
In Pan/Crop, right-click and choose Flip Horizontal.

Gary
Gary Kleiner is offline  
Old July 13th, 2004, 01:58 AM   #140
RED Code Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,514
It sounds like a soundcard/driver problem to me. Do you have the
latest drivers installed for it?
__________________

Rob Lohman, visuar@iname.com
DV Info Wrangler & RED Code Chef

Join the DV Challenge | Lady X

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Buy from the best: DVinfo.net sponsors
Rob Lohman is offline  
Old July 13th, 2004, 08:52 AM   #141
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Mankato, Minnesota
Posts: 104
A photo montage question

I'm about to do a photo montage for a friend. It's for her parents' 50th wedding anniversary.

I know how to do it, but I have a workflow question. Since I'm planning on using track motion to animate the stills, I'll need to have each still on a separate track. Do you guys just animate the stills one at a time and immediately render them out, then place them together and edit, or how do you handle this?
__________________
http://www.horsefilms.com

"I like Mankato just a little bit better than any other town in the world." -Sinclair Lewis
Ryan Gohlinghorst is offline  
Old July 13th, 2004, 08:55 AM   #142
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
Animate them with Pan/Crop instead. This will give you at least TWO benefits:

1) It will not affect the rest of the images on the same track
2) It will use the FULL resolution of the image. (You DON'T want to zoom IN on an image with Track Motion)

I always set ALL of the pan/crop changes and then render the whole thing at once.
Edward Troxel is offline  
Old July 13th, 2004, 09:21 AM   #143
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Mankato, Minnesota
Posts: 104
Great, thanks Edward! I appreciate the help. Pan/crop it is, then.
__________________
http://www.horsefilms.com

"I like Mankato just a little bit better than any other town in the world." -Sinclair Lewis
Ryan Gohlinghorst is offline  
Old July 13th, 2004, 10:19 AM   #144
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Akron, OH
Posts: 201
Can I create an invisible button in DVDA2?

I saw reference in one thread about using the alpha channel or something along those lines but can't seem to figure this out. If I want to make a part of the background image clickable, do I need to create an invisible button somehow or can I "define" some sort of hot area?

Also, am I able to make areas or buttons interactive to being selected?

Thanks,
Kevin
Kevin Kimmell is offline  
Old July 13th, 2004, 12:35 PM   #145
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Somewhere in the Negev
Posts: 1,189
Stills Motion

Edward is the resident expert and has helped me on many occasions concering Vegas. His advice should always come first. However, when I create my wedding videos, I use track motion for the stills, provided that no two images will appear in the same frame. You can animate images on the same timeline as long as you set in the in and out points correctly. At one time, I, too, thought that I had to use different tracks each time I animated a still or clip. But you can animate your stills and clips as much as you like on your timeline just as long as you keep in mind that you MUST set in and out point AND once the clips and stills are set on the line, you cannot move them. I hope this explains yoru question. I love Vegas 5 and will use it for as long as they continue making it the best NLE for PC desktops.
__________________
Interesting, if true. And interesting anyway.
Hugh DiMauro is offline  
Old July 13th, 2004, 01:13 PM   #146
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 4,750
Thanks Gary, that was it!
Glenn Chan is offline  
Old July 13th, 2004, 01:49 PM   #147
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
Hugh, I will NOT disagree that your technique will work and it is one that I HAVE applied in the past (two tracks, pictures alternate between the tracks, keyframes properly set for all images). However, do this simple test:

Place a picture (same picture) on two tracks (not overlapping so you can easily see them both)

On ONE of the images, use Track Motion. On the OTHER image, use Pan/Crop. Now Zoom in on the picture so that you are only seeing about 1/4th of the total image (i.e. tight in on a face). Which one yields the better result?

The answer will always be Pan/Crop because Pan/Crop zooms in on the total image using the full resolution of the image. Track Motion zooms in on the VIDEO FRAME instead.
Edward Troxel is offline  
Old July 14th, 2004, 12:29 AM   #148
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Fredericksburg, VA
Posts: 155
vegas5 or AE5.5?

im going to do a mask effect for an upcoming video for school...its a kids camp about media violence and sterotypes, etc.

i had the idea to use the current logo (simply letters with some rainbow looking lines over the middle) and mask the letters and have shots of diffent kids faces in each letter...this is kinda my intro to the dvd. i was even thinking about making it so that each letter plays a short vid clip of a kid in a domino effect witht he first one starting , then second, then third (and having them run like 7-10 secs each).

i normally edit in v5, but i have after effects 5.5 pro, which i never use...anyone with experience with these apps think it may be easier in v5 or AE?
__________________
Trey Perrone

Trey Perrone is offline  
Old July 14th, 2004, 01:15 AM   #149
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Makati, Metro Manila
Posts: 2,706
Images: 32
Instead of using a mask on the logo, fill in your logo with the alpha channel "color" in your favorite paint program.

Then it's a breeze to do what you want to do in either Vegas or After Effects.

Michael Wisniewski is offline  
Old July 14th, 2004, 01:44 AM   #150
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Stockton, UT
Posts: 5,648
Choose Insert>invisible button. Then link it to whatever you'd like.
This technique is shown in the VASST DVD Architect DVD. Pretty slick and quick.
__________________
Douglas Spotted Eagle/Spot
Author, producer, composer
Certified Sony Vegas Trainer
http://www.vasst.com
Douglas Spotted Eagle is offline  
Closed Thread

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:00 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network