Vegas Video discussions from 2004 (Q3Q4) - Page 14 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old July 18th, 2004, 01:15 PM   #196
Trustee
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Brookline, MA
Posts: 1,447
Thanks Doug, I thought so... wouldn't it be nice if 5.0b included an opacity setting? It seems like a no-brainer to me.
Emre Safak is offline  
Old July 19th, 2004, 02:59 AM   #197
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Australia
Posts: 12
rendering error mpeg2

Hello

I'm having a problem rendering to mpeg2, the first time I rendered everything worked fine. I have had this problem before I seem to think it is a bug that has something to do with windows media player.

The error states "An error has occured while creating the media file ***************.mpg. "The reason for the error could not be determined".

I'm using Vegas 5, I cannot think how I fixed the problem last time. Any suggestions greatly appreciated
Kylie Wilson is offline  
Old July 19th, 2004, 09:07 AM   #198
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
Check to make sure the drive containing your temporary files is not full. Then change where Vegas places the temporary files to a larger drive.
Edward Troxel is offline  
Old July 20th, 2004, 02:59 AM   #199
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Victoria, Australia
Posts: 6
Capturing Limitations

When I capture video through my USB port into Vegas 5.0 the maximum resolution is 640 x 480. This seems ok, but I would like to know if there is any way for me to capture at a higher res. If its not possible how would the quality of the outputed DVD be??

Thanks for your help
Dave
Dave Deng is offline  
Old July 20th, 2004, 08:36 AM   #200
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
Please do not capture via USB (especially if you want to be happy with the results). The preferred method of capture is via Firewire. Firewire will give you full DV resolution. If your camera does not support firewire, get a convertor and run analog to the convertor and then firewire between the convertor and computer.
Edward Troxel is offline  
Old July 20th, 2004, 09:14 AM   #201
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Victoria, Australia
Posts: 6
Thank for the reply Edward, I also have a Pinnacle's DC10+ but have had a real bad time in the past trying to render my movie into one big file. To put it lightly "im over it". Ill try capturing through firewire, Thanks.
Dave Deng is offline  
Old July 20th, 2004, 09:18 AM   #202
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
I'm not sure the Pinnacle card is OHCI compliant. You may be better off removing that card (and it's drivers) and installing a standard OHCI firewire card using Window's drivers.

As for large files, you should be able to make them as large as needed assuming your drives are formatted to NTFS. If they are FAT32, you will be limited to 4Gig files (about 18 minutes of DV).
Edward Troxel is offline  
Old July 20th, 2004, 01:16 PM   #203
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 4,750
MS 4-button mouse: Neat

I've just noticed that the 2 extra buttons on the MS USB IntelliMouse Optical mouse moves the playback head forwards and backwards following the ruler lines on your timeline. This could save lots of time looking through footage.

The mouse is also nice for webpages since the two extra buttons act as back/forward.

Conclusion: The evil empire wins again. ;)

http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...105-122&depa=0

Ok, minor gripe. The plastic around the side buttons are squarish and not rounded so they can get a little irritating.

2- Anyone have any other mice of human interface devices they also like? I haven't tried a Contour Shuttle Pro with Vegas yet, so I don't know how it compares... but you could get both :D
Glenn Chan is offline  
Old July 20th, 2004, 01:33 PM   #204
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 2,898
Interesting finding- wonder if you can map the extra mouse buttons to other actions in Vegas now that V5 allows you to remap keyboard shortcuts and the like.
Glen Elliott is offline  
Old July 20th, 2004, 02:06 PM   #205
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Hillsborough, NC
Posts: 409
The NewEgg site says it's a 5 button mouse (plus wheel). You only mentioned 4 buttons. I'm asuming the wheel is also a button. Do you know what it defaults to in Vegas?

Dennis Vogel
Dennis Vogel is offline  
Old July 20th, 2004, 03:47 PM   #206
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Hillsborough, NC
Posts: 409
DVDA 2 Audio Questioni

I'm doing my first DVD Architect 2 project. I have a single MPG file that I made a single movie DVD from. When I played the DVD the audio stopped after 49 seconds on both my settop player and my PC. I played the MPG file in WMP and it is fine--audio plays throughout the file. I played the first VOB in the TS_VIDEO folder and the audio stops again at 49 seconds. So it appears the render in DVDA failed to write my audio to the DVD files. Oh, if it matters I rendered the DVD to disk first then while in the same DVDA session burned the DVD. Standard PCM to AC3 conversion in DVDA.

I notice the timeline at the lower right of the DVDA window when I added the MPG file to the project. The audio track was probably still building the peak file when I started the render. I would have thought that only affected the screen view and not the render. Could that have prevented the full audio from being rendered? Must the peaks all be built before rendering?

If that's not the problem, anyone know what else might be going on here?

Dennis Vogel
Dennis Vogel is offline  
Old July 20th, 2004, 04:00 PM   #207
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
Let it build the peaks and then re-build the DVD. Let us know if it works after that.
Edward Troxel is offline  
Old July 20th, 2004, 05:10 PM   #208
Warden
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Clearwater, FL
Posts: 8,267
You call that a mouse? That's not a mouse. This is a mouse. It even works on my Macs.
__________________
Jeff Donald
Carpe Diem




Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Where to Buy? From the best in the business: DVinfo.net sponsors
Jeff Donald is offline  
Old July 20th, 2004, 06:30 PM   #209
Tourist
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Show Low, Arizona
Posts: 4
AVI render creates black frames

Up until recently Vegas was rendering my video flawlessly. About mid-way through the most recent .AVI render, it started inserting a single black frame about every two seconds through the remainder of the video. By selecting that portion of the video where the problem began, I've attempted to render that with every possible combination of settings offered by Vegas, and still get the black frames. Any ideas?
Dana Pence is offline  
Old July 20th, 2004, 07:30 PM   #210
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 313
Photo Resolution & Aspect Ratio

I'm adding a slide montage to my project. I've saved the photos at 655 x 480 pixels. Dropped the jpgs on the timeline and viewed result on preview window. When the preview window is docked and Best Full is selected, the picture fills the window. When I undock the window and enlarge it to full size, there are small vertical black bars on the left and right side of the picture.

If I set the preview window to Preview Auto, and leave it as a small docked window, the bars are again visible.

Is this normal and will it look right when viewed on a NTSC TV? I don't have an external monitor to preview. Thanks.
David Jasany is offline  
Closed Thread

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:16 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network