Vegas Video discussions from 2004 (Q3Q4) - Page 37 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old August 17th, 2004, 01:44 PM   #541
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Centreville Va
Posts: 1,828
well, all are welcome. Look forward to seeing everyone this Sun.
We meet in front of the movie theater in a lower level (I think). Mickey will have a sign.
email him at his vegas page to get on the email list.
Joe Carney is offline  
Old August 17th, 2004, 03:46 PM   #542
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Stockton, UT
Posts: 5,648
XP has all you need. No special drivers, nada. Just install an AGP and PCI card, hopefully of the same model to avoid two driversets, or get a duallie head like the Matrox tools, and you're good to go.
__________________
Douglas Spotted Eagle/Spot
Author, producer, composer
Certified Sony Vegas Trainer
http://www.vasst.com
Douglas Spotted Eagle is offline  
Old August 17th, 2004, 04:37 PM   #543
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oregon
Posts: 40
Looping a short on DVDA2

OK, for some reason I cannot seem to figure this out.
I have a 5:26 short that needs to play over & over on DVD. My client is taking this to a hunting trade show and wants to be able to put it in the DVD player & have it loop for about 55 or so minutes.

Can DVDA2 do this? Do I have to do the loop in V5?

I know most DVD players will loop a single movie but I do not want to confuse my client by teaching him how to do that.

Thanks in advance!
Shane Schmidt is offline  
Old August 17th, 2004, 05:03 PM   #544
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oregon
Posts: 40
AH HA!

I see that on page 104 of the DVDA2 manual it says that I can set an end action to the media file that will link to another media file. I am assuming that I can loop my DVD in this way.

Does anyone know how I can set it for a specific time or should I just do the math?


And hey, is it me or is V5 a tad buggier that V4? I have all kinds of bizarre things happen to me in V5 like text clips not showing on the preview when it is obviously there.

Thanks again.

Shane
Shane Schmidt is offline  
Old August 17th, 2004, 05:25 PM   #545
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Mankato, Minnesota
Posts: 104
Using the end action for the clip you want to loop, set it to link to itself. Once you start it, it should continue to loop indefinitely.
__________________
http://www.horsefilms.com

"I like Mankato just a little bit better than any other town in the world." -Sinclair Lewis
Ryan Gohlinghorst is offline  
Old August 17th, 2004, 09:39 PM   #546
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oregon
Posts: 40
That did the trick, I just set the clip as the intro media & linked it to itself with an end action.

Thanks again.
Shane Schmidt is offline  
Old August 18th, 2004, 08:52 AM   #547
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
New DVD from Class on Demand

http://www.classondemand.net/ClassOn...ctSelected=130

Timothy Duncan and Edward Troxel have arrived to help you master the new features of Vegas 5.Timothy explores the depths of Vegas 5 in areas such as the interface, compositing, and hardware support while Edward makes envelopes, media bins, and scripting a breeze.Together they make the upgrade from Vegas 4 to Vegas 5 painless.
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline  
Old August 18th, 2004, 12:03 PM   #548
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
Chapter 1 of the DVD is now available for viewing for a limited time.
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline  
Old August 18th, 2004, 01:36 PM   #549
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 2,898
Awesome thanks Edward!
Glen Elliott is offline  
Old August 18th, 2004, 03:38 PM   #550
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
Here's their most recent newsletter:

http://www.classondemand.net/classondemand/issue11.html
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline  
Old August 18th, 2004, 04:03 PM   #551
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Salt Lake City, Utah
Posts: 15
How to remove "Glow" effect...

I'm fairly new with Vegas 5 and have applied the "Glow" effect to an entire video track.

I want to remove the effect from all the clips that it's applied to. I must have had all the video clips selected on the track, and applied the effect to one(all).

Anyhow, I can't click on the individual clips and remove the effect for it doesnt show the effect applied but I can clearly see the effect on the video in the preview window.

I would imagine it's an easy fix. Like I said, I'm new with Vegas... go easy on me :)

Thanks!

Nate
Nate Cannon is offline  
Old August 18th, 2004, 04:06 PM   #552
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: santa fe, nm
Posts: 3,264
Images: 10
Check the effects button on the video track header(little green box on the left of the video track timeline
Bill Ravens is offline  
Old August 18th, 2004, 04:12 PM   #553
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Salt Lake City, Utah
Posts: 15
Bill... Thanks for the quick reply!

I will try that when I get home from work... If that does it, I will delete the post.

Vegas has been pretty overwhelming for me. I've been using Pinnacle's Studio software for about 4 years but it was time to move on to bigger and better! And it surely is!

Thanks again!

Nate
Nate Cannon is offline  
Old August 18th, 2004, 04:51 PM   #554
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Fredericksburg, VA
Posts: 155
couple of Veg5 issues

two problems i have with my Vegas5

1. when rendering mpeg2 files...if i choose two pass (VBR) it hangs when it gets to 50% and starts its second pass

2.when selecting "normalize" on an audio clip it mutes the entire clip.

ANyone else run into anything like this??

I just reinstalled the OS (xppro) not even a month ago.

tried the repair option for Veg5, nogo. tried uninstall of Veg5 and DVDarch2...still nogo.
__________________
Trey Perrone

Trey Perrone is offline  
Old August 18th, 2004, 08:37 PM   #555
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Durham, NC
Posts: 69
Veggie Toolkit 1.0 Available

Thanks again to all of the Vegas users that provided feedback on the pre-releases!

Release 1.0 of the Veggie Toolkit is now available for download and purchase at the following:

http://www.peachrock.com/software/veggie-toolkit.html

Thanks,

Randall
Randall Campbell is offline  
Closed Thread

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:03 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network