Vegas Video discussions from 2004 (Q3Q4) - Page 7 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old July 8th, 2004, 01:10 PM   #91
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Little Rock, AR
Posts: 199
I asked a similar question in this thread: 16:9 and Vegas. Both replies given work well.
Robert Kirkpatrick is offline  
Old July 8th, 2004, 02:02 PM   #92
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
You may also want to look at the tools available at http://www.zenote.com. These tools are MUCH faster and can be used to simulate the same looks found in Magic Bullet.
Edward Troxel is offline  
Old July 8th, 2004, 03:53 PM   #93
Trustee
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Malvern UK
Posts: 1,931
Thanks for the advice guys.

Yeah, I've often recreated similar effects to MB for my own projects in Vegas and used some of the alternatives (before Vegas I used to use Film FX in AE). None of them offer the subtleties the MB (at least the full version) have.

Such a shame that Digital FIlm Tools don't want to make their plugin for Vegas. The email I had back off them when I enquired was, to say the least, not much in favour of the Vegas system!

It's not essential that I use the Magic Bullet looks. It's just nice to have some of the presets there without having to try and recreate them.

Here are a few shots from a community video I did recently with my own combinations of filters (ie no MB done in Vegas 4)

http://www.freewebs.com/fallenangelstest/snap1.jpg
http://www.freewebs.com/fallenangelstest/snap2.jpg
http://www.freewebs.com/fallenangelstest/snap3.jpg
Simon Wyndham is offline  
Old July 8th, 2004, 04:14 PM   #94
RED Code Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,514
Is Vegas slow on your 1.3 *with* MB applied or without? I had
it running fast enough without on a 433 mhz celeron and a 900
mhz pentium 2. Again I don't know about MB.

Do you have Vegas or not? Otherwise you might try out the demo
on this 3 GHz machine? Or are you just asking what you can
expect when this machine arrives?

Sorry I can't be of any more help.
__________________

Rob Lohman, visuar@iname.com
DV Info Wrangler & RED Code Chef

Join the DV Challenge | Lady X

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Buy from the best: DVinfo.net sponsors
Rob Lohman is offline  
Old July 8th, 2004, 04:28 PM   #95
RED Code Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,514
You can do this easily from within Vegas if you have DiVX (MPEG4)
installed for example:

- Save as type: Video for Windows (*.avi)
- click Custom
- Video tab
- Video format = DiVX / XviD etc.
- click Configure
__________________

Rob Lohman, visuar@iname.com
DV Info Wrangler & RED Code Chef

Join the DV Challenge | Lady X

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Buy from the best: DVinfo.net sponsors
Rob Lohman is offline  
Old July 8th, 2004, 04:33 PM   #96
Trustee
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Malvern UK
Posts: 1,931
Hi Rob. Just want to know what to realistically expect from a 3ghz machine.

On my 1.33ghz Ahtlon the Vegas interface itself is fine. But apply even a simple filter and previews can become a pain. I do a lot of community funded videos which involve a lot of very fast shooting with kids in schools and half term workshops in mostly unprepared locations with no lighting setups etc. Because of the wide variety of situations I find myself shooting in with varying lighting conditions I often find myself doing a lot of colour correction due to mixed lighting sources, or just generally having no decent light to begin with.

It's pretty much a case of people expecting miracles from nothing! So my 1.33 is pretty stretched a lot of the time. That coupled with often having many jobs to do, I'm sure you can understand that I want to vastly reduce the rendering times and make running a second version of Vegas at the same time feasible.
Simon Wyndham is offline  
Old July 8th, 2004, 04:35 PM   #97
Trustee
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Malvern UK
Posts: 1,931
Forgot to say in answer to your question that yes, I had Vegas 4 and have recently upgraded to Vegas 5 and DVDA 2. I also realise that some might think that the effects I want to do with regard to community videos is overkill. But I prefer to give all my videos a decent look rather than making them look flat and 'standard'.

Further I will also be working on my second DV feature in the coming months.
Simon Wyndham is offline  
Old July 8th, 2004, 10:42 PM   #98
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Vancouver, British Columbia
Posts: 8,308
I don't have DivX or any other codecs installed, where do I get it from and how do I install it?

Thanks

Vegas rules.
__________________
Need to rent camera gear in Vancouver BC?
Check me out at camerarentalsvancouver.com
Dylan Couper is offline  
Old July 8th, 2004, 11:44 PM   #99
Trustee
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Brookline, MA
Posts: 1,447
http://www.doom9.org/software.htm#codecs

xvid is a good MPEG-4 codec if your source is clean, but it degrades with noise and shake.
Emre Safak is offline  
Old July 9th, 2004, 02:24 AM   #100
RED Code Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,514
Get DiVX here

I would not go with XviD since it is less distributed than DiVX.
__________________

Rob Lohman, visuar@iname.com
DV Info Wrangler & RED Code Chef

Join the DV Challenge | Lady X

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Buy from the best: DVinfo.net sponsors
Rob Lohman is offline  
Old July 9th, 2004, 08:00 AM   #101
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 4,750
How does MB compare to the median filter? ;)

2- Not sure how a 1.33ghz Athlon (FSB?) compares to a Pentium, but the Pentium should be at least two times faster. A Pentium 3.0C is fairly good bang for the buck considering you can't get much faster with Vegas. You could go with a multiprocessor (a tad faster) or with another NLE or a render farm.
Glenn Chan is offline  
Old July 9th, 2004, 11:21 AM   #102
Trustee
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Brookline, MA
Posts: 1,447
That is no reason not to use it. They both conform to the MPEG-4 standard, and can decode each other's streams.
Emre Safak is offline  
Old July 9th, 2004, 02:55 PM   #103
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Durham, NC
Posts: 69
Beta 2 Now Available

Thanks for all of the feedback on Beta 1 of the Veggie Toolkit!

Beta 2 is now available at: http://www.peachrock.com/software/veggie-toolkit.html

I have incorporated many of the suggestions and fixed a few bugs in this release. I am planning a Beta 3 release that will focus on enhancements to Capture Cutter and MultiRender. If you have any suggestions for making these tools better, please let me know.

Thanks,

Randall
Randall Campbell is offline  
Old July 9th, 2004, 03:45 PM   #104
Trustee
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Malvern UK
Posts: 1,931
SERIOUS video capture problems with Vegas 5!

I have just loaded up Vegas 5 to try and capture some video. But I got a message saying that video capture wasn't shut down properly the last time I used is, and a question asking me if I wished to load the project. I have tried answering both yes and no, and each time video capture tries to load and then crashes out.

I have just uninstalled Vegas 5, and then reinstalled it. I still cannot get video capture to load up! It still gives me the same message! Anyone any ideas? I'm desperate!
Simon Wyndham is offline  
Old July 9th, 2004, 09:32 PM   #105
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Ashford, AL
Posts: 937
Try starting just the VidCap program. Using Windows Explorer, go to the Vegas 5 folder and double click on vidcap50.exe. Make sure all background programs are stopped...including virus checkers. CTRL-ALT-DEL to get to task manager, then click the applications tab and make sure nothing is running in the background. If something other than vidcap is running, stop it.
Guy Bruner is offline  
Closed Thread

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:40 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network