Vegas Video discussions from 2004 (Q3Q4) - Page 99 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old November 20th, 2004, 08:31 PM   #1471
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
I would take a look at the Adorage transitions and see if there are of that nature. You might also check out Pixelan as well.
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline  
Old November 20th, 2004, 08:32 PM   #1472
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
Do a web search for "DVD2AVI"
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline  
Old November 20th, 2004, 09:28 PM   #1473
New Boot
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 20
No audio when switching chapters

Hi all,

I burned m first menu-based DVD using DVD Architect.
When I just play it from the beginning, everything is fine.
However, as soon as I start skipping ahead chapter wise,
or use the menu to pick chapters randomly, I lose
all audio.

Can anybody help me please.

Thanks,
Isaac
Isaac Kim is offline  
Old November 20th, 2004, 10:05 PM   #1474
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: NYC
Posts: 41
I got that problem when my total bitrate was higher than the maximum allowed for DVD's. Not sure if that will help you, but if you are using high bitrate files, you may want to consider lowering your encoding settings (or using encoded audio, etc.)
Barry Lajnwand is offline  
Old November 21st, 2004, 01:07 AM   #1475
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: 32 44' N 117 10' W
Posts: 820
ACID can take AUDIO off of CD's (FYI)
John Hudson is offline  
Old November 21st, 2004, 01:56 AM   #1476
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Aus
Posts: 3,884
Pixelan Spicemaster 2 does this easily, however with spice1 , u can also get some grandient swirls happening..
Peter Jefferson is offline  
Old November 21st, 2004, 06:40 AM   #1477
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
<<<-- Originally posted by John Hudson : ACID can take AUDIO off of CD's (FYI) -->>>

So can Vegas. He's asking about DVDs, though.
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline  
Old November 21st, 2004, 08:37 PM   #1478
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: SF & LA
Posts: 195
Advise sought from knowledgable INTRO makers ! ! !

Well my project is almost finished; the last step to this learning experience is I want to make a cool/exciting intro for the wow factor and also the experience of doing it.

The intro i had in mind was similar to the ones "Queer eye for the Straight Guy", "Family Bonds (HBO)" and "American Casino" all share. These are just a few that came to mind from the top of my head.

If you are still confussed; its where i seperate the person from the background. On a freeze, i want the background to seperate, change color, and title coming flying in.

Now my only question is, How do i accomplish this with Vegas 5? If need be i also have P.S. 6 (on a different computer). I read a post regarding the wedding/3d fx, is this the same concept?

Thanks all for the help; once done i'd love to share it with the group for feedback
Tim Kay is offline  
Old November 21st, 2004, 08:50 PM   #1479
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
If it's on a snapshot, it should be fairly easy to accomplish. Just take a snapshot of the deisred frame, edit it in the photo program to eliminate the background, and then you're all set. You can put whatever new background you need there.
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline  
Old November 22nd, 2004, 07:01 AM   #1480
RED Code Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,514
Vignetting might be possible to do with a black and white color
gradient in a paint program and then using that mask on your
footage?
__________________

Rob Lohman, visuar@iname.com
DV Info Wrangler & RED Code Chef

Join the DV Challenge | Lady X

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Buy from the best: DVinfo.net sponsors
Rob Lohman is offline  
Old November 22nd, 2004, 07:06 AM   #1481
Trustee
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Malvern UK
Posts: 1,931
Or the lighting effect filter.
Simon Wyndham is offline  
Old November 22nd, 2004, 07:33 AM   #1482
RED Code Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,514
Which exact version of DVDA are you using? It might also be the
player that is messing up, ofcourse.
__________________

Rob Lohman, visuar@iname.com
DV Info Wrangler & RED Code Chef

Join the DV Challenge | Lady X

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Buy from the best: DVinfo.net sponsors
Rob Lohman is offline  
Old November 22nd, 2004, 12:54 PM   #1483
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: 32 44' N 117 10' W
Posts: 820
YEah that's why I put FYI. :P
John Hudson is offline  
Old November 22nd, 2004, 03:37 PM   #1484
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Posts: 167
Try Googling DVD Shrink. It's free, and it's a great program.
Kevin A. Sturges is offline  
Old November 22nd, 2004, 09:08 PM   #1485
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: springfield, OH
Posts: 344
NTSC Photoshop presets and Vegas

I'm new to the Vegas forum, so I don't know if this has been discussed, but I've noticed that when designing graphics for Vegas you don't have to do anything special as far as pixel aspect ratios are concerned.

As a matter of fact it seems that Vegas maintains an images correct aspect ratio when you place it on the timeline.

To be more specific, I was designing some graphics in Photoshop to import into Vegas using the "NTSC DV 720x480 with guides" preset. It supposedly does pixel aspect ratio correction so you can see what your image will look like on an NTSC monitor. However, when I import the image into Vegas, I see that it's already trying to interpret square pixels into DV pixels and I get a distorted image on my video monitor.

Has anyone else had any expirience with this?

I do find the "NTSC colors" filter useful for designing video graphics.
__________________
Tony

"Good taste is the enemy of creativity" - Picasso

Blog: http://www.tonyhall.name
Tony Hall is offline  
Closed Thread

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:38 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network