Vegas Crashes with M2T HDV editing at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old July 3rd, 2007, 06:24 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 25
Vegas Crashes with M2T HDV editing

I've done shorter pieces, but recently tried a 10 minute with about 30 M2T files edited, and now it crashes all the time. I have Vegas 7e, 2GHz Core2 4MB cache, 2GB ram, 7200rpm drive.

Can anyone confirm if this is a computer speed issue or a Vegas/M2T limitation? Anyway to save my edits but convert to a different format than M2t?

thanks
Ario Damghani is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 4th, 2007, 07:29 PM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 279
Hi Ario,

It sounds O.K to me try not render on the same hard drive, if Vegas is on C drive render it and dump it on D drive and make sure that your Antivirus or any other programs are not running in background.
Also make sure to Defrage your hard drives prior to any projects.

Good luck


Matthew
__________________
Canon XHA1, Brevis 35mm, Manfrotto 028,501,Vegas Pro 10e
Matthew Amirkhani is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 4th, 2007, 11:35 PM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: New York
Posts: 508
I render to the same drive with no problems. I also keep antivirus and stuff on with no problems and no noticeable slowdown of rendering speed.
Alex Thames is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 5th, 2007, 12:24 AM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 857
My Vegas 7 crashes if a field mouse in the next county twitches.

I think the biggest two factors for me is fragmentation and heat -- both of which I can address, but Vegas is very delicate.
__________________
www.LegacyHDV.com
Weddings | Corporate | HMC150s | FCPX | Encore | Lion
Dana Salsbury is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 5th, 2007, 04:41 PM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: New York
Posts: 508
Weird. I've never experienced any of these problems.
Alex Thames is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 5th, 2007, 09:57 PM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 279
Hi,

Uninstall the Vegas 7e and install Vegas 7d then check and see if you see any diffrence, from what I see a lot of people are complaining of Vegas 7e.

Matthew
__________________
Canon XHA1, Brevis 35mm, Manfrotto 028,501,Vegas Pro 10e
Matthew Amirkhani is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 6th, 2007, 09:55 AM   #7
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Fayetteville, NC
Posts: 168
i have a BOXX with dual xeon 3.2 ...and 2 GB ram...seperate drives..etc

but it still struggles with the HDV and I don't know why! I too would like some insight!

jeremiah
Jeremiah McLamb is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:37 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network