Vegas and Intesity HDMI card? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old July 5th, 2007, 02:27 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Great Neck, NY
Posts: 291
Vegas and Intesity HDMI card?

Can vegas capture and more importantly use the HDMI output to preview on an 1080p HDTV? Thanks for any help.

Stephen Eastwood
http://www.StephenEastwood.com
Stephen Eastwood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 6th, 2007, 10:26 AM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Centreville, Maryland
Posts: 258
No. I just installed an Intensity Pro on my computer. It works with everything adobe, but not Vegas. I got word back from a Black Magic Design Engineer who said currently they currently don't support Vegas at all.
Theodore McNeil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 6th, 2007, 10:59 AM   #3
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: santa fe, nm
Posts: 3,264
Images: 10
It will work, but, you need to use the BMD drivers from an earlier version.
Bill Ravens is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 6th, 2007, 04:36 PM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Centreville, Maryland
Posts: 258
The BMD Decklink cards works with the proper driver.

There is no support for the HDMI Intensity line at all.
Theodore McNeil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 23rd, 2007, 12:42 AM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Albuquerque, New Mexico USA
Posts: 326
Any news on the Intensity Pro and Vegas? I have one being delivered on Tuesday and I sure would prefer to use Vegas as opposed to Premiere. I have Premiere v2.0, but I really don't want to use it.

John
John Cline is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 23rd, 2007, 03:14 AM   #6
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Burnaby, BC, Canada
Posts: 2,963
What about just using Cineform? or is your budget too low/you don't want to buy anymore stuff?
__________________
I wait for the day cost-efficient global shutter 60fps capable CMOS sensors emerge for use on major manufacturers' cameras. (Sony, Canon, etc.) Rolling Shutters are a plague.
Jack Zhang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 29th, 2007, 12:04 PM   #7
Trustee
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Gilbert, AZ
Posts: 1,896
Any news on Intensity Pro working as preview monitor for Vegas?
Steven Thomas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 29th, 2007, 04:04 PM   #8
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Albuquerque, New Mexico USA
Posts: 326
I got this today from Blackmagic Design:

"Our engineers are working closely with Vegas engineers towards making it all work together. Unfortunately, I don't have any particular timeframe for how soon this will happen, but it's gonna happen."

In the meantime, check this out:

www.videoguys.com/vegaspro8.html

It looks like in addition to a massively improved titler, we get 32-bit (!) video processing, not just the 10 bit for which we were hoping. We also get HDV smart rendering and BluRay support. Version 8 appears to be a MAJOR upgrade. Kudos to the team in Madison.

John
John Cline is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 29th, 2007, 05:08 PM   #9
Trustee
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Gilbert, AZ
Posts: 1,896
Good news.
I might fire off an email regarding the info we're hearing the the Studio card's component inputs. Maybe they would share their info on the Intensity Pro component input quality as a comparison to the Studio card.
Steven Thomas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 30th, 2008, 01:11 PM   #10
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Poland
Posts: 4,086
Any news on this subject? I have just invested in a Full HDTV plasma, and hung it above my desktop. I'd like to use it as the full screen preview monitor in Vegas. Even though this has been discussed in many threads already, I am still not clear whether it's possible to achieve full fps (or at least much better than in the preview window) while playing the timeline in Best/Full preview config. If so, what hardware do I need to invest into? I mean, I'm NOT so much interested in a capturing device as I'm using file approach in acquisition (EX1), but in helping Vegas resample the timeline. Is it viable?

So, is it a good idea to invest in the Blackmagic Intensity card? As I understand it, in terms of fps, even these cards cannot play faster from Vegas timeline than the preview window. Just to make sure :)

Also, can it play back 1080/25p? In the specs, I can oly see 1080i...But even if I send my 1080p timeline as 1080i to the HDTV, it will de-interlace it; only...how much is it worth for previewing progressive?

Well, I guess i I still had the V1E with HDMI out, I'd buy the Intensity without hesitation. But with the file based EX1, is it still worth it? Any comments welcome!
__________________
Sony PXW-FS7 | DaVinci Resolve Studio; Magix Vegas Pro; i7-5960X CPU; 64 GB RAM; 2x GTX 1080 8GB GPU; Decklink 4K Extreme 12G; 4x 3TB WD Black in RAID 0; 1TB M.2 NVMe cache drive
Piotr Wozniacki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 9th, 2008, 03:23 PM   #11
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Hannover, Germany
Posts: 400
I've been considering a Blackmagic Intensity Pro to output Vegas to an HD monitor for preview. I currently use 2 20" Dells for editing and would like to use these for just timeline / trimmer / and all the rest leaving the HD monitor for preview from an Intensity

Now, this post and others ask the question as to whether Vegas works with Intensity but none of them have any definitive answers! The trail just stops!

I'm assuming that Blackmagic sorted out the Vegas compatibility issue and that's that.

However, can anyone here confirm this before I order it? Also, can anyone tell me whether my edit machine would suffer trying to output to 2 DVI monitors and a HDTV? Pentium Dual e6700 2.66. 2 g RAM GeForce 8800GTS

Any help appreciated!
Stuart Campbell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 9th, 2008, 04:00 PM   #12
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Albuquerque, New Mexico USA
Posts: 326
Yes, the Intensity now works with Vegas. However, Vegas does not take advantage of the hardware acceleration of the Intensity, so you won't see preview frame rates above what you would get by just using the "secondary monitor" function. It does work fairly well if you have a fast computer.
John Cline is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 10th, 2008, 07:59 AM   #13
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Hannover, Germany
Posts: 400
Thanks John, that's good news.

However, what sort of hardware acceleration would PPro and FCP users see then that we Vegas users will not? Will I see any loss in performance as a result or will the preview frame rate be the same as the preview sat next to the timeline?
Stuart Campbell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 10th, 2008, 01:08 PM   #14
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Albuquerque, New Mexico USA
Posts: 326
In Vegas, the Intensity preview rate is the same as the preview window.
John Cline is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 15th, 2008, 08:15 PM   #15
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 106
Hi John,
I've been trying to get intensity to work AT ALL on my system. I'm currently running Win XP 64 and under Vegas 8.0c I get "Black Magic Decklink" (not BM intensity) come up under the preview devices menu. It has a number of options you can select from, NTSC/PAL etc - none of which seem to produce any output to the ASUS monitor I'm trying to preview on. Under Vegas 8.1 - there's no BMD preview device recognised at all. Interestingly enough, under after effects, it lists "BMD intensity" in the preview devices but I can ONLY get a preview to come out if the settings are put to NTSC output (I'm in PAL land) and this appears pixelated and low res - none of the HD modes will work at all. I have the latest BMD intensity 2 drivers for 64 bit installed. Any ideas? Seems like a total waste of $300 from where I stand.
Thanks,
David.
David Warrilow is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:51 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network