DJ Jumpback Compositing Woes at

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old July 13th, 2007, 12:09 PM   #1
Regular Crew
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Ypsilanti, MI
Posts: 87
DJ Jumpback Compositing Woes

I am very frustrated. I am trying to place an animated global from DJ Jumpbacks on an animated background. The background for the globe is gray. I need to remove the gray background from the globe completely so that I will be able to see the animated background on the track below. I have been trying different setting under compositing mode and I also tried track fx: mask generator. I have not gotten my desired outcome. I also tried adjusting thealpha channel under the clip properties to no avail. So, I need your help. I admit that I don't understand some of the features of some of the aforementioned adjustments, so maybe I was at the right place at the wrong time. Please help.
Jack-of-all-trades trying to master one (Videography)
Albert Rodgers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 13th, 2007, 12:24 PM   #2
Inner Circle
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 6,609
Try CHROMA KEY---take the eye dropper from the green screen and use that to get the color of the background from the globe. It should disappear and you should be all set.

Don Bloom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 13th, 2007, 12:51 PM   #3
Inner Circle
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Windsor, ON Canada
Posts: 2,763
How did you bring the Jumpback into Vegas?
I use tham all the time (bringing them in as MOV files) and never have an issue with transparency.

BTW, here's the procedure from the Digital Juice site:

Vegas does not automatically recognize the Alpha channel so when dropping content onto the timeline, you may be wondering where the transparency is, why the edges look awful, why it doesn't look the same as what you saw on the DJ Website, etc. so please try the following steps:

After putting the clip in the Vegas timeline, right click on it, select Properties, the Media Tab and then select either Straight Unmatted or Premultipled Dirty for the alpha Channel.

If you import it through the Media Pool, you can right click on it there, click properties, then click on the Alpha Channel drop down.
Mike Kujbida is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 13th, 2007, 09:20 PM   #4
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Stockton, UT
Posts: 5,648
Vegas should recognize the alpha. If it is not, you follow Mike steps, but before closing the properties dialog, click the small floppy disc icon in the middle of the dialog, this will tell Vegas to remember this file sort as having an alpha.
Douglas Spotted Eagle/Spot
Author, producer, composer
Certified Sony Vegas Trainer
Douglas Spotted Eagle is offline   Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

Omega Broadcast
(512) 251-7778
Austin, TX

(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

(800) 238-8480
Glendale, CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:30 AM.

DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2015 The Digital Video Information Network