1080 60i to 720 30p? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old July 17th, 2007, 07:10 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 58
1080 60i to 720 30p?

First of all, I would like to introduce myself. I am new to the HDV world, and have been trolling around on here for a couple weeks. What a great resource and community! I have just purchased the Canon XH-A1 and I have both Premiere Pro 2 and Vegas 7. I also have a Sony HDR-HC3 that I will be using for seperate angles. I have a couple of questions regarding the two:

1. I have several videos recorded at 1080 60i. Some from each camera. I want to downconvert them to a smaller file size to give my web visitors options that will complement their internet connection, and was wondering if 720 30p would be the best solution. I was wondering if it was possible in Vegas, and if there were any tips you could offer on getting smaller wmv files without completely degrading the quality.

2. Also, Is it possible to edit both 60i from the sony and 30f from the camera on the same timeline? What about 24f? I realize 24f is a stretch, but I was wondering If anyone had tried 60i and 30f together, and how the results were.

Anyway, thanks in advance and thanks for accepting me into the community!
Robert Brandon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 17th, 2007, 08:13 PM   #2
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Stockton, UT
Posts: 5,648
Vegas manages 24f, 30f, 24p, 30p, 25p, 50i, and 60i all very nicely on the same timeline, regardless of the resolution of those formats.

Mixing 60i and 30f on the same timeline output very nicely to either 30p or 60i. Converting 30f to 24p isn't a very pretty sight, however.
__________________
Douglas Spotted Eagle/Spot
Author, producer, composer
Certified Sony Vegas Trainer
http://www.vasst.com
Douglas Spotted Eagle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 17th, 2007, 11:10 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 58
So, if I import both 24f and 60i to the same timeline, in 1080, I will still be able to output 720 30p with no problems? Wow, Vegas rocks! Are there any other NLEs with that ability? Seems Adobe says that different media is ok but diff frame rates is a no no in CS3. Maight be wrong, but I thought I heard that. Was considering moving to Avid media composer when I get my MAC, but wondering if Ill still have that capability? THANKS!
Robert Brandon is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:19 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network