Vegas on a Mac? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old July 21st, 2007, 04:13 AM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 58
Vegas on a Mac?

Has anyone tried to run Vegas on one of the new intel macs with windows installed? Just curious if it would be stable on a mac. Thanks!
Robert Brandon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 21st, 2007, 08:01 AM   #2
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
Several people have done so.
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 21st, 2007, 10:10 AM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Detroit MI
Posts: 253
I was just about the ask the same question. But how is it inside Parallels?
__________________
ScapeFilms.com | My Photography | IMDB Profile
Mike Tesh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 21st, 2007, 10:52 AM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Sterling Heights, Michigan
Posts: 105
Vegas 7 runs great on a mac with boot camp, at least on my MacBook. I don't use parallels so can't answer that question but I would think you would get quite a performance hit.

Duane
Duane Burleson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 28th, 2007, 12:19 AM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: NY, NY
Posts: 129
well now its been a while has anyone run vegas on a mac pro? what system and what speed? is it a worthwhile option over another pc? I would love some numbers and stats if anyone had them maybe they would run the rener speed test from

http://www.sonycreativesoftware.com/...ssageID=538258
Chris Klidonas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 28th, 2007, 05:34 AM   #6
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Windsor, ON Canada
Posts: 2,765
Chris, if you look towards the bottom of that thread, you'll find the following:

********************
Mac Pro Quad 3.0 Ghz 8gb Ram
Running windows Vista ultimate 64bit
Vegas 7.0e
1:50 (110 secs)
Processors maxed out at 100%
RAM usage maxed at around 2Gb

********************

Mac Pro quad with two 2.66 Intel dual core Xeons. 2GB RAM.
Vegas 7.0e
First time was not right, consistently 7:35 until I remembered I had dynamic RAM preview set to zero because I sometimes use the Boris FX plugin. By setting dynamic RAM preview to 64MB or higher, render was 2:02. Seems like zeroing RAM preview results in less than full use of all 4 cores. 2 minutes--wowie.
Just for the record, this Mac is running XP Pro SP2 via Boot Camp and seems to use the hardware drivers just fine.
Mike Kujbida is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 28th, 2007, 03:43 PM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 314
If you would like to run Mac apps and Windows apps at the same time rather than having to choose one or the other with bootcamp, you might consider looking at VMWare Fusion.

"Run multiple operating systems, including Windows, Linux, and Solaris, on your Macintosh at the same time as Mac OS X – without rebooting. Designed from the ground up for the Mac, VMware Fusion allows you to run Mac and Windows applications side-by-side – quickly and effortlessly sharing information between the two operating systems’ environments. "

"Run Windows XP side-by-side with Mac OS X from your existing Boot Camp partition, which VMware Fusion automatically detects..."

http://www.vmware.com/beta/fusion/overview.html

Only $39.99 pre-order or $79.99 when it is released.

The beta is still available on the page.
John McManimie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 28th, 2007, 04:02 PM   #8
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Mays Landing, NJ
Posts: 11,543
FWIW, MacWorld recently did an issue comparing Windows options for Macs: http://www.macworld.com/2007/04/maga...2007/index.php

If they haven't fixed this issue then Fusion might not be a good choice for video editing:

Quote:
On the downside, Fusion has no FireWire support, except as a source of shared folders on a hard drive. I couldn’t get my Wacom graphics tablet to work.
http://www.macworld.com/2007/04/feat...ware/index.php
Boyd Ostroff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 28th, 2007, 04:13 PM   #9
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 314
I don't think that it does offer virtualized IEEE 1394 (no VMs do). But, at only $39.99, I think that it might still be a great option that would allow you to use Windows and Mac apps side-by-side..
John McManimie is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:15 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network