File Size at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old July 23rd, 2007, 06:08 AM   #1
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 8,421
File Size

File size when I capture footage from my PD170 is around 9Gb an hour. However my new cameraman says when he captures footage (he uses Pinnacle) it only takes up around 5Gb an hour.

His camera is a GL2.

I want him to capture to a portable hard drive so that I can edit the footage, but am concerned about the quality of his footage.

Any ideas as to the reason for the differences in file size?
Jeff Harper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 23rd, 2007, 06:19 AM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 40
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeff Harper View Post
File size when I capture footage from my PD170 is around 9Gb an hour. However my new cameraman says when he captures footage (he uses Pinnacle) it only takes up around 5Gb an hour.

His camera is a GL2.

I want him to capture to a portable hard drive so that I can edit the footage, but am concerned about the quality of his footage.

Any ideas as to the reason for the differences in file size?
Doesn't sound like you guys are transferring the original footage in its recorded format. On the PC, I would transfer the DV .avi, and it would be around ~13gb per hour. It is the video as it was recorded. Depending on DV Type, you *might* get slightly different filesizes (DV Type-2 perhaps slightly larger than DV Type-1). But BOTH being ~13gb per hour.

Check the properties of your 9gb capture, and also check the properties of the 5gb capture -- they must be going through an on-the-fly conversion to a more compressed format...

Regards,
George
George Wing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 23rd, 2007, 06:25 AM   #3
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 8,421
Through all the versions of Vegas I have used (6 and up) DV footage has captured the same size (9-10 Gb) using the default settings.

I will check the properties next time I capture though thanks!

I am even more concerned about the quality of my cameraman's footage....5Gb file size is clearly way off.
Jeff Harper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 23rd, 2007, 06:38 AM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Noosa Queensland Australia
Posts: 236
All my captured footage has been at 13Gb/hr.

Must be some sort of down-conversion at play there.
Bill Watson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 23rd, 2007, 08:38 AM   #5
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
9-10 Gig is also way off. DV footage is between 12 and 13 Gig/hour - period.

Now, if you're only capturing 45 minutes, 9-10 Gig would be about right.

As everyone has said so far, make sure you're all on the same page and everyone is capturing DV-AVI.
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 23rd, 2007, 11:37 AM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Sacramento, Elk Grove. Calif
Posts: 305
If you are shooting with a GL2 and capturing straigbht to Vegas via firewire how could you capture anything but DV.avi type 2?
__________________
Puttin the wet stuff on the red stuff!
Terry Esslinger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 23rd, 2007, 11:52 AM   #7
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 40
Quote:
Originally Posted by Terry Esslinger View Post
If you are shooting with a GL2 and capturing straigbht to Vegas via firewire how could you capture anything but DV.avi type 2?
From the original post, the GL2 belongs to the cameraman, and he uses Pinnacle...

Regards,
George
George Wing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 23rd, 2007, 11:57 AM   #8
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Windsor, ON Canada
Posts: 2,765
Quote:
Originally Posted by Terry Esslinger View Post
If you are shooting with a GL2 and capturing straigbht to Vegas via firewire how could you capture anything but DV.avi type 2?
If you're using Vegas, this is correct.
Iin his original post though, Jeff said:
"However my new cameraman says when he captures footage (he uses Pinnacle) it only takes up around 5Gb an hour."
This leads me to suspect that his cameraman is NOT using DV-AVI as a capture setting.
I've never used anything from Pinnacle so I have no idea why his file size is so small.
Mike Kujbida is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 23rd, 2007, 12:00 PM   #9
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 8,421
Thank you gentlemen...I have found that I do capture at about 13 gigs an hour...most clips are under an hour and I mentally just rounded up...so I guess the issue lies with just my shooter...
Jeff Harper is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:35 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network