Radeon slower than nvidia in vegas???? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old July 25th, 2007, 05:20 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: NY, NY
Posts: 129
Radeon slower than nvidia in vegas????

OK, so I have a system and I have both a nvidia 8500gt 256 card and I have a radeon 1650 512 card and 1550 256 card, I did not think it should make a difference to rendering time which is running in Vegas, but running the same render test file the nvidia ccard and vegas 7 ran it to hdv 1080 60i in 6min 40seconds, the radeon 512 card installed on the same syetem right afterward ran at 14.39 seconds, both the same file, same output,m same drive configiration? I did not think that was how vegas worked
Chris Klidonas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 25th, 2007, 05:45 PM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 3,259
Chris, were you just rendering a clip on the timeline? Or did it have efx on it. Especially, Magic Bullet?
Seth Bloombaum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 25th, 2007, 05:51 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: NY, NY
Posts: 129
no effects, it was a rendertest clip to check your speed,http://www.sonycreativesoftware.com/...ssageID=537069

its slow and should not happen that way from what I heard.
Chris Klidonas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 26th, 2007, 01:18 AM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Hollywood USA
Posts: 128
First why do you have so many cards in your system? Next it is better to use nvidia cards over ati because of the opengl. But installing two different cards may create a driver conflict and then in turn create the slow down. Try just using nvidia cards and see what your results are. Also make sure you running the latest drivers.
__________________
Canon XHA1, SGpro,Flip,FF, RR Mattebox, Nebtek V-R70p-HDA with Canon, Nikkor Primes 24mm f2.8, 28mm f2.8, 35mm f2.0, 50mm f1.4, 85mm f1.4, 105mm f1.8, 135mm f2.0, and 300mm f4.0.
Cary Lee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 26th, 2007, 01:44 AM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: NY, NY
Posts: 129
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cary Lee View Post
First why do you have so many cards in your system? Next it is better to use nvidia cards over ati because of the opengl. But installing two different cards may create a driver conflict and then in turn create the slow down. Try just using nvidia cards and see what your results are. Also make sure you running the latest drivers.
I only had one brand at a time, either a nvidia 8500 and 6200 or a radeon 1650 and 1550, ati and radeon do not play with each other at the same time on a windows system
Chris Klidonas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 26th, 2007, 02:28 AM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Hollywood USA
Posts: 128
You mean you don't mix Nvidia with Ati Radeon cards running at the same time right?
__________________
Canon XHA1, SGpro,Flip,FF, RR Mattebox, Nebtek V-R70p-HDA with Canon, Nikkor Primes 24mm f2.8, 28mm f2.8, 35mm f2.0, 50mm f1.4, 85mm f1.4, 105mm f1.8, 135mm f2.0, and 300mm f4.0.
Cary Lee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 26th, 2007, 02:56 AM   #7
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: NY, NY
Posts: 129
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cary Lee View Post
You mean you don't mix Nvidia with Ati Radeon cards running at the same time right?
Exactly, they do not play well together in the same system, at least not a windows setup.
Chris Klidonas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 27th, 2007, 09:43 PM   #8
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: NY, NY
Posts: 129
ok so now I reformatted my harddrives and reinstalled vista clean and two radeon cards with the quad and 4 gigs runs at 3.36 when I have patience I will swap cards again for the nvidia and run it again to see if its still faster. meanwhile my dual core amd 5000 with an nvidia 8600 and 6200oc with 4 gigs also on vista runs it at 6.05

Also running the same to wmv I get times of quad core 3.10 and dual core 3.23 is that normal?
Chris Klidonas is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:21 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network