The out of sync by +0.00 bug at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old July 28th, 2007, 11:24 AM   #1
Trustee
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Brookline, MA
Posts: 1,447
The out of sync by +0.00 bug

Often when I ripple a track I get a bunch of red clips afterwards. Red clips signal "out of sync", but it they are off by +0.00 then they are not really off are they? Nothing really changes when I synchronize the event, after all. Is there a script that can go through the entire project and get rid of them?
Emre Safak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 28th, 2007, 04:44 PM   #2
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
It's hard for a script to go through the entire timeline because it has to know which clip it's supposed to match up to and there's really no guarantee the audio and video are going to be on two sequential tracks or even that the video even belongs to that audio.
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 28th, 2007, 11:00 PM   #3
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Windsor, ON Canada
Posts: 2,765
Emre, just a stab in the dark here but do you by chance have "Quantize to Frames" turned off?
It should be on at all times when editing video.
Mike Kujbida is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 30th, 2007, 12:11 AM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 293
I get the same thing on certain clips. And quantize is turned on.
__________________
Check out my videos here: http://www.youtube.com/24Peter
Peter J Alessandria is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 1st, 2007, 05:25 AM   #5
Slash Rules!
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 4,723
I get this too. I'm using version 6, if it matters. Quantize blah blah is on (at least I think so. . there's no easy way to tell), but I still have tons of clips with +/- 0.00 on 'em. Furthermore, sometimes when I make an edit, say, taking a few frames out of one clip (and closing the gap created), when it butts up against the clip before it, I get a mini-dissolve that says it's a 0 duration.
Josh Bass is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 1st, 2007, 07:50 AM   #6
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Miami, FL
Posts: 17
Same here, I'm using Vegas 7e and Quantize is always on.
C.M. de la Vega is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:36 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network