CS3 and strange playback issue... at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Adobe Creative Suite
All about the world of Adobe Premiere and its associated plug-ins.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old November 12th, 2007, 10:36 PM   #1
New Boot
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 8
CS3 and strange playback issue...

Just upgraded to Premiere CS3...

All is well except that on occasion (about 50% of the time), if I leave a project open for a while and play back a rendered sequence, the video on my program monitor (2nd PC monitor) looks jittery almost like the fields are swapped...

If I restart Premiere, sometimes it goes away...

Usually, I have to reboot the PC and restart Premiere, but then it comes back randomly...

Also notice that it occurs on imported clips when I preview them in the source monitor...

HOWEVER, at any time - if I pull these clips up in Windows Media Player, they are smooth as glass on either monitor...

What's going on!!!???
D.J. Segler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 13th, 2007, 12:08 PM   #2
New Boot
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 8
By the way - I've tried playing around with almost all of the combinations of playback settings and none of them seem to make it better. Some make it a little worse - but it can't get much worse than it already is...

Ideas? Someone's sure to have gone through this already...
D.J. Segler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 14th, 2007, 01:11 PM   #3
New Boot
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 8
I can't believe nobody else has experienced this!???

Anyone?
D.J. Segler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 14th, 2007, 07:10 PM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Estes Park, CO USA
Posts: 426
I would make sure your video driver is up to date. If you drag the source monitor onto your PC monitor #1 do you still experience the same issues? And is this monitor being fed a PC signal (VGA or DMI) or one from a composite or s-video connection of your video card or Firewire/camera feed?

Video overlay on your card could be acting up.

Just trying to throw some things out there...

Brian Brown
Brian Brown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 14th, 2007, 08:42 PM   #5
New Boot
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 8
Good questions but...

- Already loaded the latest drivers with no impact...
- The playback is the same regardless of the monitor
- Both monitors are connected via standard VGA (although the main monitor is connected to the DVI output using a VGA adapter - very standard).

I'll dig further into the overlay thing - but I'm doubtful since I can drag a windows media window playing video around both monitors and it continues to play smoothly...
D.J. Segler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 18th, 2007, 10:44 PM   #6
New Boot
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 8
Bump... Anyone have any ideas?
D.J. Segler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 20th, 2007, 10:31 AM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Warsaw/Poland
Posts: 716
Sounds like memory problem - how much RAM does our computer have and what is your CPU? Are there any other applications running at the same time?
Bart Walczak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 20th, 2007, 12:06 PM   #8
New Boot
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 8
Well - it's an AMD 64 2xAthlon. I do only have 1Gig and have thought about increasing that as well...

I use this machine for audio work as well and have it scrubbed and optimized for this type of work. And it only gets used for this work...

I've used it with previous versions of Premiere without issue and I'm skeptical that I need to change anything with the hardware, but I do agree that more RAM can never hurt...
D.J. Segler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 24th, 2007, 12:46 PM   #9
New Boot
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 8
i was having weird playback issues, mainly jerky video, and found that a driver re-install did the trick for me. I downloaded the latest nVidia drivers from the nvidia website, installed and rebooted. I then download the November release of DirectX 9c from another website, installed and rebooted. After that video playback worked fine ..
Glenn Bailey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 24th, 2007, 01:40 PM   #10
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Morristown, New Jersey
Posts: 249
Ram, Ram, Ram.

Also, check out your page file location. CS3 tries to keep all the balls in the air and can go to the page file pretty quickly even with lots of ram.

There are a couple of threads here about optimizing locations for page file, scratch file, source file, etc.
Brad Tyrrell is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:48 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network