Is PPro CS3 more stable on Vista than on XP? at

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Adobe Creative Suite
All about the world of Adobe Premiere and its associated plug-ins.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old April 22nd, 2008, 04:08 AM   #1
Major Player
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: London, UK
Posts: 243
Is PPro CS3 more stable on Vista than on XP?

Hi there,

I currently run PPro CS 3.1.1 on WinXP Pro SP2. I find PPro perfectly stable for small projects but it can get really quite unstable with large, complex projects with nested timelines so I'm looking at my options. One option is, of course, to move to Windows Vista.

I have read quite a number of forum posts saying that PPro CS3 is actually more stable on Windows Vista than it is on XP Pro. I have a hunch that Adobe do the majority of their QA on Vista.

Has anyone recently swapped from XP to Vista (or visa-versa)? Have you found PPro to be more or less stable on Vista?

Many thanks,
Jack Kelly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 22nd, 2008, 06:18 AM   #2
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: North Conway, NH
Posts: 1,745
Jack... I think you're going to get more opinions and anecdotes from us than facts on this question since quantifiable data is a bit thin on the ground.

That said, my experience of running both on XP and Vista leads me to believe that they are both reasonably stable. I recently finished a project in HDV that included nearly five hours of raw footage and the finished product is one hour with a lot of color correction and some effects, and Vista worked OK.

There have been many who have stayed away from Vista like the plague. Check the Adobe forums for some vociferous anti-Vista sentiment. I'm sure they all have valid reasons.

I think you could go either way and be successful.
Tripp Woelfel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 23rd, 2008, 12:02 AM   #3
Major Player
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Brno Czech Republic
Posts: 453
Vista has matured quite a bit over the year and a half. If you've got a recent multicore computer and 2 GB RAM or more, definitely go for Vista. It has better memory management than XP - it takes up more RAM, but uses it more "wisely". It doesn't choke on multitasking as much as XP.

With computer older than 2 years, stick with XP.
Jiri Fiala is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 23rd, 2008, 01:27 AM   #4
Regular Crew
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Princeton, NC
Posts: 161
I just went from a desktop with XP to a laptop with Vista home premium (32bit). So far very stable and no problems what so ever. Although I did go from a 2.5 p4 processor to a 2.5 duo.

I'm running a HP dv9700t, 4gb Ram, NAVIDIA GeForce 8600 with a T9300 Duo processor. Not having any issues even with large projects of two hours length. Render is faster and I'm smoking through AE as well.

Bridge shows an error on start up but works without faults.

Runnning quite a few different plug-ins like Pro Animator and some trapcode stuff and its much faster, I'm sure hardware is a part of that but I'm not having any problems with Vista.
Woody Sanford is offline   Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

Omega Broadcast
(512) 251-7778
Austin, TX

(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

(800) 238-8480
Glendale, CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:28 PM.

DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2015 The Digital Video Information Network