Media Pending with Premiere. at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Adobe Creative Suite
All about the world of Adobe Premiere and its associated plug-ins.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old September 6th, 2008, 07:31 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Riverside, California
Posts: 112
Media Pending with Premiere.

Hello everyone,

I have a dilemma that I hope can be solved by Pros around here. Recently I ran a defragment on my 3 hard disk drives, my 2nd drive-storage drive- took a dive. I rebooted. After the reboot, 2nd drive was no where to be seen in My Computer. Simply put the drive had bad sectors and windows would NOT boot while that sata drive(2nd) was plugged in even though BIOS could detect the drive fine.

Long story short, i got a live cd, ran dd rescue, got my data back. Now, I have 4 huge HDV files ranging from 4-12GB in size in this project from the lost HDD. I can open the premiere project file fine but the HDV files will not Import even after waiting overnight for it to finish. It just says "Media Pending" on the preview window.... forever! The files are fine, I can play them with VLC, Media Player... i can scroll through out all sections/scenes, they are fine. But importing them takes hours to forever to finish. I have removed Media Cache folder, it does not improve the situation. How do i import these files so i can finish this project?

Premiere CS3
HDV Capable computer.
Media Cache removed
Scratch disk changed.

thanks.
__________________
dcrin3.com
we don't know alot of genres, at least as of now.
Kalulu Ngilo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 6th, 2008, 08:28 PM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Rancho Santa Margarita, California
Posts: 201
Try creating a new project and see if it will import then. If not your file might be missing some data in your avi file. I dont know how to repair it but try searching google or this board for avi repair. Another option is to try to bring it into after effects and export it in the same avi format and then make your media clips offline and then re-link them.

Hope that helps.
__________________
Mitchell J. Skurnik
http://www.mjcsstudios.com/ - EX1, 4x hoodman 16GB, Libec Tripod, Sony LAV
Mitchell Skurnik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 7th, 2008, 10:03 AM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: London, UK
Posts: 277
The Media Cache Database is what directs Premiere to the Media Cache files. If your storage drive letter has changed since the crash/recovery, it will have problems. Try to match all your drive letters and project/media folder structure to what it was before the crash and see if that helps.
Another idea is to create a new project and import the old one into it, and see if Premiere can re-cache correctly all your media.
Deleting the media cache folder will not help. You can try and clear the Media Cache Database in the project preferences if other solutions don't work.
(clearing the database means all projects on your system will need to be re-cached, even the ones that are working fine. So do it as last step)

Good Luck :)
Jon Shohet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 8th, 2008, 10:30 PM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Riverside, California
Posts: 112
thanks i will be trying those ideas.
__________________
dcrin3.com
we don't know alot of genres, at least as of now.
Kalulu Ngilo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 9th, 2008, 11:36 PM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Riverside, California
Posts: 112
i got a new Hard disk and changed the drive to the same letter and same name. No Dice!
__________________
dcrin3.com
we don't know alot of genres, at least as of now.
Kalulu Ngilo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 10th, 2008, 02:15 AM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Rancho Santa Margarita, California
Posts: 201
Microsoft Online Crash Analysis
__________________
Mitchell J. Skurnik
http://www.mjcsstudios.com/ - EX1, 4x hoodman 16GB, Libec Tripod, Sony LAV
Mitchell Skurnik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 10th, 2008, 09:14 AM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Neenah, WI
Posts: 547
Try this:

Open the project and leave the drive letter be different than the original...
-also try moving the Media cache folder
-save the project as a new name so you preserve the original just in case...

Choose "All offline" when the project wonders where the heck the assets are...

The project will open with all the media as missing.

Then, from the project window/bins, link each missing clip to the appropriate clips in the new location.

See if that flies...,it should relink all the raw video and all the edits on the time line should be reconstructed...you'll probably need to re-render, but that's pretty easy stuff.
__________________
TimK
Kolb Productions
Tim Kolb is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:13 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network