audio madness at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Adobe Creative Suite
All about the world of Adobe Premiere and its associated plug-ins.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old January 7th, 2009, 10:20 AM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Iqaluit Nunavut, Canada
Posts: 98
audio madness

Hey there.

Just wondering if this is a setting issue or not.

yesterday I captured a tape from my camcorder which was a mastered tape...mixed on channel one and 2 two. However when I finished capturing this mixed tape there was only one channel to work with on the timeline in premiere cs3, it was properly balanced left and right just as it was on the master tape, but instead of having 2 channels to work with...i had one

this must be a settings issue, otherwise it is sort of dissapointing.

my instinct was to select audio channels one and two in the timeline before I placed the source clip in the timeline and then all would be great...but I wasn't even able to select both channels on the timeline at the same time.

is this an old problem I should have figured out long ago?

Thanks
Jay Legere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 7th, 2009, 08:17 PM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Hamilton Ontario
Posts: 769
Hey Jay........Nunavut eh??
Man, i'd love to visit there one day...

I believe there's an option in Premiere for stereo channels..
Before dropping the AVI onto the timeline, go to the Project/source panel, and right click the clip..
There should be an option to output the stereo to two Mono channels...Once you enable this, drop the clip to the timeline, and you should have a video track, and two mono tracks...

Good luck...
Peter Manojlovic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 8th, 2009, 08:05 AM   #3
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: North Conway, NH
Posts: 1,745
Peter's right. If you want discreet left and right channels that can be put on different tracks in the timeline, right click the clip in the bin and change the audio options.

Important: you must do this before you drop it into the timeline. Once in the timeline you cannot change that property. The "why" of this is beyond me. There is a workaround for this if you already have it in the timeline and you don't want to remove the clip and start over, but it's a bit of a kluge.
Tripp Woelfel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 8th, 2009, 08:23 AM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Iqaluit Nunavut, Canada
Posts: 98
Thanks both of you.

When I get home tonight I will check it out...

I tried doing it last night to a clip that I had already dropped on the timeline...and it wasn't happeing, so I will bring in something new and give it a shot...

I do wish I could ride levels as they were being ingested...is this possible too?
Jay Legere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 8th, 2009, 08:44 PM   #5
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: North Conway, NH
Posts: 1,745
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jay Legere View Post
I do wish I could ride levels as they were being ingested...is this possible too?
Ingested when? Of course you can ride them whilst recording but after that you're stuck with what you get. Next chance to adjust them is in PP.
Tripp Woelfel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 8th, 2009, 10:52 PM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Iqaluit Nunavut, Canada
Posts: 98
ingested into the program from my camera...I use the word ingested instead of captured sometimes.

At work I edit with Avid, love the program but costly. while I am ingesting from a deck I can ride the the audio levels at the same time so when I am editing there is little fuss over audio levels. It is great!
Jay Legere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 9th, 2009, 07:28 AM   #7
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: North Conway, NH
Posts: 1,745
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jay Legere View Post
I use the word ingested instead of captured sometimes.
I knew exactly what you meant. (grin)

That would be a helpful feature but I just don't think it'll be showing up within PP in my lifetime, but I'm old and there's not much of it left.
Tripp Woelfel is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:09 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network