Premiere Pro CS4 Benchmark - Page 4 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Adobe Creative Suite
All about the world of Adobe Premiere and its associated plug-ins.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old June 7th, 2010, 04:46 AM   #46
Trustee
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Rotterdam, Netherlands
Posts: 1,832
David,

What you experienced here is something a number of people have seen and I have no explanation for it.

What we see when people run the PPBM4 benchmark test on the same hardware with CS4 and CS5 they find that the AVI test takes about twice as long under CS5 with MPE turned off and nearly 4 times as long when MPE is turned on.

For example my results:

CS4: 1.4
CS5: 2.9 with MPE off
CS5: 5.4 with MPE on

If anybody has a logical explanation, I would like to hear is.
Harm Millaard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 7th, 2010, 04:51 AM   #47
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Chester, North West
Posts: 565
Quote:
Originally Posted by Harm Millaard View Post
David,

What you experienced here is something a number of people have seen and I have no explanation for it.

What we see when people run the PPBM4 benchmark test on the same hardware with CS4 and CS5 they find that the AVI test takes about twice as long under CS5 with MPE turned off and nearly 4 times as long when MPE is turned on.

For example my results:

CS4: 1.4
CS5: 2.9 with MPE off
CS5: 5.4 with MPE on

If anybody has a logical explanation, I would like to hear is.
Its the GFX card that is being clocked down.

Download CPU-Z and you will see the speed differences.

Mine is flicking from

CORE: 300mhz
SHADERS: 600mhz
MEM: 100mhz

to:

633mhz
1404mhz
1131mhz

Pretty sure is will cause the slow lag
David Dwyer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 7th, 2010, 06:22 AM   #48
Trustee
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Rotterdam, Netherlands
Posts: 1,832
David,

This does not explain the deterioration from 1.4 to 2.9 with an ATI card, just by the move from CS4 to CS5.

CPU-Z does not show any changes in Core, Shaders or Memory, they remain stable at 721, 1442 and 1880 MHz. Is there any way to allow for real time updates to the display of CPU-Z, or are you talking about GPU-Z?
Attached Thumbnails
Premiere Pro CS4 Benchmark-7-6-2010-13-34-15.jpg  
Harm Millaard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 7th, 2010, 06:39 AM   #49
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Chester, North West
Posts: 565
Not sure about the ATI card setup.

Here is what CPUZ is telling me - cpuz.png is the standard use with no 3d stressing. 01 is with it stressed a little and you can see the clock speed has gone to full speed.

And 02 is the meant to turn off this down clocking.
Attached Thumbnails
Premiere Pro CS4 Benchmark-cpuz.png   Premiere Pro CS4 Benchmark-cpuz01.png  

Premiere Pro CS4 Benchmark-cpuz02.png  
David Dwyer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 7th, 2010, 06:44 AM   #50
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Chester, North West
Posts: 565
Quote:
Originally Posted by Harm Millaard View Post
David,

This does not explain the deterioration from 1.4 to 2.9 with an ATI card, just by the move from CS4 to CS5.

CPU-Z does not show any changes in Core, Shaders or Memory, they remain stable at 721, 1442 and 1880 MHz. Is there any way to allow for real time updates to the display of CPU-Z, or are you talking about GPU-Z?
GPU Z causes the card to run at full speed. Have CPU and GPU Z open and close GPUZ and watch the rates return to lower clockl?
David Dwyer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 7th, 2010, 06:54 AM   #51
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Chester, North West
Posts: 565
Well as a little test I ran the PPBM4 while GPUZ was open forcing the card to run at full speed - Confirmed in CPUZ

MPE on with GPUZ Open:

21.9, secs Total Benchmark Time
8, secs AVI Encoding Time
7.9, secs MPEG Elapsed Time
6, secs Rendering Time

MPE without

23.1, secs Total Benchmark Time
8.1, secs AVI Encoding Time
8, secs MPEG Elapsed Time
7, secs Rendering Time

So maybe the down clocking of the GPU isnt effecting it and its something else?
David Dwyer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 7th, 2010, 07:21 AM   #52
Trustee
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Rotterdam, Netherlands
Posts: 1,832
Quote:
Originally Posted by David Dwyer View Post
GPU Z causes the card to run at full speed. Have CPU and GPU Z open and close GPUZ and watch the rates return to lower clockl?
Makes no difference here.
Harm Millaard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 7th, 2010, 07:36 AM   #53
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Chester, North West
Posts: 565
Quote:
Originally Posted by Harm Millaard View Post
Makes no difference here.
Mine changes but doesnt seem to make any difference anyways.

Hmm
David Dwyer is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:19 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network