CS5 faster than CS4 on a slower system? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Adobe Creative Suite
All about the world of Adobe Premiere and its associated plug-ins.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old August 25th, 2010, 12:26 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 189
CS5 faster than CS4 on a slower system?

This article CS5: Should You Upgrade? ANIMOTION mentions the following


Benefits
64bit: In a 32bit program, the maximum memory (RAM) that can be used is 3 GB. Photoshop, Premiere Pro and After Effects CS5 are 64bit programs and can use all of the memory in your computer. This makes the program more stable and faster, especially with complex projects.


Can anyone confirm this? I'm on the fence about upgrading because I only have 4gb of ram.
Joe Riggs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 25th, 2010, 12:41 PM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Denmark
Posts: 491
I can confirm that I can use cs5 on my Toshiba qusmio celeron laptop with 2 gb ram - cs4 cannot playback any HD files - no problem in CS5. My experience is that my computers that cannot handle cs 4 - works with cs5. Offcourse this will not do on all computers that cannot handle cs4 - like a 286 with 4 Mb ram.....
You gain a lot, just getting a 64 bit program.
Bo Skelmose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 25th, 2010, 12:44 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 189
Wow! That is interesting.
Joe Riggs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 25th, 2010, 12:44 PM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Melrose Park, Illinois, USA
Posts: 936
Quote:
Originally Posted by Joe Riggs View Post
This article CS5: Should You Upgrade? ANIMOTION mentions the following


Benefits
64bit: In a 32bit program, the maximum memory (RAM) that can be used is 3 GB. Photoshop, Premiere Pro and After Effects CS5 are 64bit programs and can use all of the memory in your computer. This makes the program more stable and faster, especially with complex projects.


Can anyone confirm this? I'm on the fence about upgrading because I only have 4gb of ram.
Premiere Pro CS5 can use all of that RAM - and the more RAM you add, the better. In fact, with only 4GB of RAM installed, CS5 does not run sufficiently better/faster than CS4 to justify the upgrade.
Randall Leong is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 28th, 2010, 09:41 PM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Port Orange, FL
Posts: 59
Actually, I found the Mercury Playback Engine to be worth the price of the upgrade from CS4 to CS5, even on a Dual Core system with only 4 Gigs of RAM. Drop in a NVidia card with CUDA support and CS5 will really perform better than CS4. I did this with a couple of our older Dual Core systems.
David Knarr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 30th, 2010, 06:14 PM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Hamilton Ontario
Posts: 769
I'm on the fence with this one...

Do i upgrade to CS5 on my older HP workstation?
I'd gladly drop the Matrox card for a Cuda card if i felt comforatable knowing that my system could run faster.

I'm cutting HDV for the most part....
Peter Manojlovic is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:34 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network