MSVCR90.dll error causing Premiere CS5 to crash at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Adobe Creative Suite
All about the world of Adobe Premiere and its associated plug-ins.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old December 8th, 2010, 11:34 AM   #1
New Boot
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 20
MSVCR90.dll error causing Premiere CS5 to crash

Hi all,

I am having a problem when working in Premiere CS5 which causes it to crash. Looking in my event viewer, I see the issue is the file MSVCR90.dll. I have included the text from this below, as well as the link. Any help would be greatly appreciated. The entire project uses files Cineform AVI's.


SS



https://cid-b8b5a06569777398.office..../MSVCR%20Error



Log Name: Application

Source: Application Error

Date: 05/12/2010 1:58:38 AM

Event ID: 1000

Task Category: (100)

Level: Error

Keywords: Classic

User: N/A

Computer: Owner-PC

Description:

Faulting application name: Adobe Premiere Pro.exe, version: 5.0.2.0, time stamp: 0x4c731297

Faulting module name: MSVCR90.dll, version: 9.0.30729.4926, time stamp: 0x4a1750b0

Exception code: 0xc0000417

Fault offset: 0x0000000000054fc0

Faulting process id: 0xf18

Faulting application start time: 0x01cb94479d2ad0e5

Faulting application path: C:\Program Files\Adobe\Adobe Premiere Pro CS5\Adobe Premiere Pro.exe

Faulting module path: C:\Windows\WinSxS\amd64_microsoft.vc90.crt_1fc8b3b9a1e18e3b_9.0.30729.4926_none_08e1a05ba83fe554\MSV CR90.dll

Report Id: 15ce75e0-003d-11e0-b0a2-485b3914204f

Event Xml:

<Event xmlns="http://schemas.microsoft.com/win/2004/08/events/event">

<System>

<Provider Name="Application Error" />

<EventID Qualifiers="0">1000</EventID>

<Level>2</Level>

<Task>100</Task>

<Keywords>0x80000000000000</Keywords>

<TimeCreated SystemTime="2010-12-05T06:58:38.000000000Z" />

<EventRecordID>6595</EventRecordID>

<Channel>Application</Channel>

<Computer>Owner-PC</Computer>

<Security />

</System>

<EventData>

<Data>Adobe Premiere Pro.exe</Data>

<Data>5.0.2.0</Data>

<Data>4c731297</Data>

<Data>MSVCR90.dll</Data>

<Data>9.0.30729.4926</Data>

<Data>4a1750b0</Data>

<Data>c0000417</Data>

<Data>0000000000054fc0</Data>

<Data>f18</Data>

<Data>01cb94479d2ad0e5</Data>

<Data>C:\Program Files\Adobe\Adobe Premiere Pro CS5\Adobe Premiere Pro.exe</Data>

<Data>C:\Windows\WinSxS\amd64_microsoft.vc90.crt_1fc8b3b9a1e18e3b_9.0.30729.4926_none_08e1a05ba83fe5 54\MSVCR90.dll</Data>

<Data>15ce75e0-003d-11e0-b0a2-485b3914204f</Data>

</EventData>

</Event>
Shmuley Shelton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 8th, 2010, 01:26 PM   #2
Adobe Systems
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 191
Install the UpdateóKeep an eye on Adobe Forum Post

Please install the Adobe Premiere Pro CS5 (5.0.3) update and see if it solves your problem. For links and full info on the update, check the Adobe Premiere Pro Work Area blog post here.

Other users are encountering similar issues. Please keep an eye on this post for a possible solution.
__________________
Kevin Monahan - Support Product ManageróDVA
After Effects - Premiere Pro - Media Encoder - Prelude - SpeedGrade - Encore
Kevin Monahan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 8th, 2010, 01:29 PM   #3
New Boot
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 20
Hi Kevin,

Thanks for your reply. I saw the update and installed this. No luck.

SS
Shmuley Shelton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 8th, 2010, 01:44 PM   #4
Adobe Systems
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 191
We'll Keep Trying!

Too bad to hear that the upgrade did not help. Let me tell the Premiere Pro team about this issue and make sure that this is being worked on.
__________________
Kevin Monahan - Support Product ManageróDVA
After Effects - Premiere Pro - Media Encoder - Prelude - SpeedGrade - Encore
Kevin Monahan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 8th, 2010, 01:48 PM   #5
New Boot
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 20
And now what?

Thanks Kevin. Any suggestions in the meantime? Any help would be great. Someone suggested this might be a Cineform issue. Is that a possibility?
Shmuley Shelton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 8th, 2010, 02:31 PM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Northern California
Posts: 517
I had the same issue, and just stole the file from another system in the office and it worked fine. That file existes in multiple locations on your system, so I would do a full search for it. See if one copy was recently modified, and maybe overwrite it with a copy from somewhere else on your system, or another system. (Always make a backup copy before you over wrote it, and I would a clean boot before attempting, since a crashed opening of CS5 could prevent you from modifying the file.)
__________________
For more information on these topics, check out my tech website at www.hd4pc.com
Mike McCarthy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 8th, 2010, 03:30 PM   #7
New Boot
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 20
Thanks so much for this suggestion, Mike.
But are you saying that I could use virtually any file type with the same name (MSVCR90.dll), or would it need to be from a specific directory that you have in mind, elsewhere in a CS5 folder. In truth, I have some trepidation about this suggested solution.

Many thanks!
Shmuley Shelton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 8th, 2010, 04:09 PM   #8
Adobe Systems
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 191
Likely, it's Cineform

Hey,
I talked to the folks here and they think it's likely a problem with Cineform. If you uninstall Cineform, it's unlikely that you'll have the same issue. What has been suggested is that you install the latest Cineform drivers and see if that solves your problem for you.

Please report back with your findings so that others may benefit. Thanks!
__________________
Kevin Monahan - Support Product ManageróDVA
After Effects - Premiere Pro - Media Encoder - Prelude - SpeedGrade - Encore
Kevin Monahan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 9th, 2010, 01:10 PM   #9
New Boot
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 20
Not Cineform

Hi Kevin,

Just wanted to report back. I did a thorough uninstall of Cineform's Neo Scene, then reinstalled it. No luck - just had a crash. What are your thoughts on Mike's suggestion of replacing the .dll file?

Also, Kevin, I have a .dmp file here from the last time the program crashed. Could you or your co-workers take a look? Please let me know where to send it if this is possible.

Thanks.

Last edited by Shmuley Shelton; December 9th, 2010 at 07:16 PM. Reason: Added info.
Shmuley Shelton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 9th, 2010, 01:42 PM   #10
New Boot
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 20
Suggestion by another user.

Hi Kevin,

Just found this suggestion by a user on another forum - again, the replacement of the .dll. Thoughts?

"The way that I would work this would be to do a search on my system for msvcr90.dll. I expect you'll find half a dozen or more. Compare the version numbers of the files that you find in Adobe Media Encoder to the ones you have in Premiere Pro. If all the version numbers match except for one, replace the one that doesn't match. On the other hand... if all the version numbers match, replace the ones in Premiere Pro with the ones in Media Encoder. When you replace files make sure you copy files from one location to another, don't actually remove the files from the source location.That probably goes without saying, but better safe than sorry."
Shmuley Shelton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 9th, 2010, 08:28 PM   #11
Adobe Systems
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 191
We're working on it and I will try to find out more tomorrow. Thanks for your your patience.
__________________
Kevin Monahan - Support Product ManageróDVA
After Effects - Premiere Pro - Media Encoder - Prelude - SpeedGrade - Encore
Kevin Monahan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 9th, 2010, 09:12 PM   #12
New Boot
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 20
Thanks Kevin. Do let me know if there's a way to send over the .dmp file that was recorded from the last crash.
Shmuley Shelton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 10th, 2010, 03:49 PM   #13
Adobe Systems
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 191
Full Reinstall Please

I heard back from the Adobe Premiere Pro team. It is suggested that a full reinstall is in order. Make sure you delete the Adobe/Common folder where Cineform is installed.
__________________
Kevin Monahan - Support Product ManageróDVA
After Effects - Premiere Pro - Media Encoder - Prelude - SpeedGrade - Encore
Kevin Monahan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 10th, 2010, 08:04 PM   #14
New Boot
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 20
I tried this days ago.

Hi Kevin,

I actually tried this days ago, before posting to any forums and, as you can probably guess, it didn't help anything. Can you fill me in on the rationale behind this?
I guess, then again, I've got nothing to lose at this point.

Thanks for your diligence on this issue.
Shmuley Shelton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 10th, 2010, 10:03 PM   #15
Adobe Systems
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 191
I'm sorry that our suggestion didn't fix the problem for you. I'll report that you already did a complete reinstall and see what feedback I can get for you.
__________________
Kevin Monahan - Support Product ManageróDVA
After Effects - Premiere Pro - Media Encoder - Prelude - SpeedGrade - Encore
Kevin Monahan is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:45 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network