Premiere Pro CS (5.0.3) Upgrade Now Available at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Adobe Creative Suite
All about the world of Adobe Premiere and its associated plug-ins.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old December 8th, 2010, 12:49 PM   #1
Adobe Systems
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 191
Premiere Pro CS (5.0.3) Upgrade Now Available

Hey All,
A new update for Premiere Pro CS5 users was recently released. The Premiere Pro CS5 (5.0.3) release includes new and changed features, bug fixes, other software updates known to address problems with Premiere Pro CS5 and other known issues.

One cool thing about this update is that it is the first one to support a mobile CUDA card (the Quadro 5000M). Now you can get the Mercury Playback Engine running out in the field.

Todd Kopriva’s blog, “Premiere Pro Work Area” includes much more information and links to the updaters. Read more about the update and find the links here:

“Premiere Pro CS5 (5.0.3) update: performance improvements, bug fixes and Quadro 5000M and 4000 CUDA support”

Make sure to download the correct file, as there are two links for both Windows and Mac. One link is for the retail version and the other updates the trial download.

Release notes are available at this link.
__________________
Kevin Monahan - Support Product ManageróDVA
After Effects - Premiere Pro - Media Encoder - Prelude - SpeedGrade - Encore
Kevin Monahan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 8th, 2010, 06:58 PM   #2
Tourist
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Spokane, WA
Posts: 2
PPro 5.0.3 Update

The update wipes out the MPE graphic card hack. So copy your 'cuda_supported_cards.txt' file to a safe location prior to installing the update.
Paddy Hoy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 8th, 2010, 09:50 PM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Melrose Park, Illinois, USA
Posts: 936
Quote:
Originally Posted by Paddy Hoy View Post
The update wipes out the MPE graphic card hack. So copy your 'cuda_supported_cards.txt' file to a safe location prior to installing the update.
And still no official GTX 480 support in MPE without the hack. :(
Randall Leong is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 8th, 2010, 11:31 PM   #4
Adobe Systems
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 191
The More Requests for Cards the Better

Hi Randall,
Sorry we didn't get your card certified for this release. If you would like a particular card to be supported, file a feature request. Just let us know the details about the card. Click here to get to the feature request form.

Thanks!
__________________
Kevin Monahan - Support Product ManageróDVA
After Effects - Premiere Pro - Media Encoder - Prelude - SpeedGrade - Encore
Kevin Monahan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 8th, 2010, 11:43 PM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Melrose Park, Illinois, USA
Posts: 936
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kevin Monahan View Post
Hi Randall,
Sorry we didn't get your card certified for this release. If you would like a particular card to be supported, file a feature request. Just let us know the details about the card. Click here to get to the feature request form.

Thanks!
Though I don't own a GTX 480 myself (I have a GTX 470, which has been officially supported in the Windows version since 5.0.2), I was speaking for the group of users who own or are using a GTX 480.
Randall Leong is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 9th, 2010, 02:53 AM   #6
Adobe Systems
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 191
Thanks

Randall,
Thanks for giving me a heads up that many users would like to see this card supported. Let those that want support for the card know that it's best to file a feature request. Unfortunately, any request here on the forum might not make it to the right people.
__________________
Kevin Monahan - Support Product ManageróDVA
After Effects - Premiere Pro - Media Encoder - Prelude - SpeedGrade - Encore
Kevin Monahan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 9th, 2010, 07:36 AM   #7
Wrangler
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 4,093
Many thanks to Kevin and Todd from Adobe -- and to Adobe management -- for the much increased presence here at DVinfo. A win-win! But since he alluded to it, I think Kevin would agree that it is still very important to formally report bugs and request new features on the Adobe site:

Adobe Feature Request/Bug Report Form

I'd imagine that Adobe makes decisions about resource allocation for a particular issue based on how much customer feedback they get, and the reporting form would be the logical place to tally feedback.
__________________
Pete Bauer
The most beautiful thing we can experience is the mysterious. It is the source of all true art and science. Albert Einstein
Trying to solve a DV mystery? You may find the answer behind the SEARCH function ... or be able to join a discussion already in progress!
Pete Bauer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 9th, 2010, 12:25 PM   #8
Adobe Systems
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 191
True!

Pete,
You are exactly correct about how important feedback is for us. There are few other measurable ways to find out which features are desired most by our customers. We can't be on every single forum on every website and tally up what people want, it's impossible. What we do is come to forums to remind people the best way to get our attention about any desired new feature: submit a feature request.

Thanks again for pointing that out Pete.
__________________
Kevin Monahan - Support Product ManageróDVA
After Effects - Premiere Pro - Media Encoder - Prelude - SpeedGrade - Encore
Kevin Monahan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 9th, 2010, 01:39 PM   #9
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Woodinville, WA USA
Posts: 3,464
Quote:
Originally Posted by Paddy Hoy View Post
The update wipes out the MPE graphic card hack. So copy your 'cuda_supported_cards.txt' file to a safe location prior to installing the update.
The update just replaces the txt file with a new clean copy, right? It doesn't disable the functionality of the "hack" process? So all you have to do is re-edit the file?
__________________
"It can only be attributable to human error... This sort of thing has cropped up before, and it has always been due to human error."
Adam Gold is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 9th, 2010, 03:24 PM   #10
Tourist
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Spokane, WA
Posts: 2
That is correct.
Paddy Hoy is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:02 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network