Multicam more than 4 cameras? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Adobe Creative Suite
All about the world of Adobe Premiere and its associated plug-ins.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old February 4th, 2011, 11:03 AM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 204
Multicam more than 4 cameras?

Is this ever going to be a reality? Why in the world can we only multicam 4 cameras? I constantly shoot with 5-9 cameras and doing multicam on Premiere is a mess and I have to do all sorts of crazy work-arounds to use all my footage.

I love Premiere and everything Adobe, but this is so annoying. I certainly can't be the only one out there.

My edit team and I cringe every time we have a 8 camera multicam shoot because of Premiere's 4 camera limitation.
Lloyd Ubshura is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 4th, 2011, 12:21 PM   #2
Adobe Systems
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 191
Best thing you can do is make a feature request. The more we get, the more likely it will be included in an upcoming release.

Go here: http://www.adobe.com/go/wish
__________________
Kevin Monahan - Support Product Manager—DVA
After Effects - Premiere Pro - Media Encoder - Prelude - SpeedGrade - Encore
Kevin Monahan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 5th, 2011, 07:24 PM   #3
Trustee
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 1,554
Get a switcher such as the Tricaster XD850 which can handle 8 cameras and several virtual inputs such as stored clips, graphics and computer inputs. I am about to order their XD300 and find their hardware rock solid.

Or get Media Composer 5 or Edius which can handle 8 cameras (or more for MC5). The time saved will beat the cost of either software.
Steve Kalle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 7th, 2011, 10:54 AM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Long Beach, CA
Posts: 150
If you don't mind me asking, what are the workarounds for more than 4 cameras? I'm still a relative newb with Premiere and I'm going to have some 5-7 camera stuff coming up here in a couple months.

--Ben
__________________
Benjamin Maas • Fifth Circle Audio • Signal Hill, CA
http://www.fifthcircle.com
Benjamin Maas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 7th, 2011, 11:34 AM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 442
I believe Vegas will do 8 cams or more, and the drain on the CPU is less than with CS3/4/5.
Jacques E. Bouchard is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:04 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network