Transferring Chapter Markers between Encore Projects at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Adobe Creative Suite
All about the world of Adobe Premiere and its associated plug-ins.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old March 24th, 2011, 11:50 AM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Beverly, MA
Posts: 512
Transferring Chapter Markers between Encore Projects

Is there really and truly no way of exporting/importing chapter markers even between encore files?

My workflow involves making 2 encore projects for each project: one for DVD, one for blu-ray. (I do this because I prefer the quality of the way I compress the m2v files for the DVD version over how Encore does it.)

Anyway: long story short, my workflow is good and fast and easy EXCEPT that Encore won't let me export/import chapter markers (CS5 mind you!).

Any thoughts? Any work-arounds? I'm just trying to get the chapter markers from the DVD timeline to export/import into the bluray version. I've even tried doing this all within one project. But the problem is, UNLIKE dvdsp, you can't just copy/paste a timeline and have it keep its chapter points when you change the video within it.
__________________
Event Videography, New England
www.timothybakland.com
Tim Bakland is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 25th, 2011, 07:45 PM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Hamilton Ontario
Posts: 769
Re: Transferring Chapter Markers between Encore Projects

Sorry Tim...

I asked the same question in the Adobe forums. No dice.
It would've been nice to have a Text based export (whether from Ppro, or Encore), and simply import the text as chapter markers.
It should be simple enough for the programmers of Encore to do...

Unfortunately, this needs to be filed in a feature request.
Since i'm on CS4, it's pretty well moot...

I've gotten used to writing down all my chapter markers..It's a PIA...Even the Dynamic linking isn't respected in my case..

Take care, and good luck!!!
Peter Manojlovic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 26th, 2011, 02:33 PM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Beverly, MA
Posts: 512
Re: Transferring Chapter Markers between Encore Projects

Thanks Peter. You confirmed my fears. I really can't believe they haven't programmed that, even through 5 versions. Oh well -- hopefully in an update not to far down the road...
__________________
Event Videography, New England
www.timothybakland.com
Tim Bakland is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 21st, 2011, 09:06 PM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Beverly, MA
Posts: 512
Re: Transferring Chapter Markers between Encore Projects

What about with the recent Encore (5.5) ?

I wonder if they've added easier importing of chapters (quicktime to encore.... encore to encore copy/paste)
__________________
Event Videography, New England
www.timothybakland.com
Tim Bakland is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 22nd, 2011, 02:36 PM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 694
Re: Transferring Chapter Markers between Encore Projects

You cannot move the chaper markers around (nor in 5.5). I export my HD timeline to mpeg2-dvd (m2v) and H.264 Bluray (m4v) both with markers. Imported these files into Encore and the markers show in Encore as wel in the dvd timeline as the BD timeline. I do not use DL as it messes up the fields.
Ann Bens is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 22nd, 2011, 11:32 PM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Hamilton Ontario
Posts: 769
Re: Transferring Chapter Markers between Encore Projects

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ann Bens View Post
I export my HD timeline to mpeg2-dvd (m2v) and H.264 Bluray (m4v) both with markers. Imported these files into Encore and the markers show in Encore as wel in the dvd timeline as the BD timeline.
Sorry Ann...
Where is the option for this?? Is it in the XML info?
What you're saying is that your M2V's have chapter marker information stored for Encore usage?

Where in AME is this option offered?
I'm still on CS4 BTW..

Thanx...
Peter Manojlovic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 23rd, 2011, 02:56 PM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 694
Re: Transferring Chapter Markers between Encore Projects

No you are right, no markers in CS4. Just tested it myselfe.
CS5 no problem.
Ann Bens is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:07 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network