Audio Playing Fine in the Timeline, but Exports as Silence at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Adobe Creative Suite
All about the world of Adobe Premiere and its associated plug-ins.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old April 5th, 2011, 10:20 AM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Washington, DC
Posts: 190
Audio Playing Fine in the Timeline, but Exports as Silence

I'm running CS4 on a 64-bit Windows 7 system. I've done a lot of projects, but I've encountered a (somewhat) new problem.

I am working on a single stream of footage recorded on a Canon Vixia HF100 (AVCHD) -- nothing new there. I'm also replacing the camera audio with a separate audio recording -- nothing new there.

However, the audio I'm importing is 44.1kHz. The project is at 48kHz. I'm trying to export to 48kHz.

All the music plays fine in the project, but all the exported videos are silent. If I revert to the original audio, it exports correctly. I imported a test 48kHz audio file, and it seemed to export correctly with the video.

I thought Premiere doesn't have a problem importing/exporting audio of different sample rates. (I thought I've done this before without trouble.) Is this not correct? It is playing fine in the timeline, so what's up?

Any thoughts and ideas are appreciated. Thanks!
Christian Brown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 5th, 2011, 11:07 AM   #2
Trustee
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Miami, FL USA
Posts: 1,483
Re: Audio Playing Fine in the Timeline, but Exports as Silence

Often this is a codec problem --- the codec that made the audio is not present in the program trying to play it. Or check your export settings to be sure the audio is not muted in media encoder...
Battle Vaughan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 5th, 2011, 06:08 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Washington, DC
Posts: 190
Re: Audio Playing Fine in the Timeline, but Exports as Silence

The codec is WAV, 16-bit, 44.1kHz, so I wouldn't expect that to be a problem.

If I mute the separate audio, and export using the on-camera audio, I can hear it, so I don't think it is a problem with audio being explicitly muted in Encoded.

Hrm.
Christian Brown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 5th, 2011, 06:13 PM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Washington, DC
Posts: 190
Re: Audio Playing Fine in the Timeline, but Exports as Silence

I have managed to copy all the video to a new projects, complete with cuts. I've imported new audio at 48kHz, and it seems to be exporting fine. I tried copying the old audio, and that would paste fine, but it would have the same problem on export as before.

Now to sync up all the songs again...
Christian Brown is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:14 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network