One Project, Different Frame Rates at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Adobe Creative Suite
All about the world of Adobe Premiere and its associated plug-ins.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old August 23rd, 2011, 12:59 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Federal Way, WA
Posts: 31
One Project, Different Frame Rates

I am new to Premiere CS5.5, but am spending a lot of time learning right now.

Footage: Canon 7D 24fps, 60fps, GoPro 30fps, 60fps.
Program: PP 5.5

Questions:
When I create a new project, and then create a new sequence for the first clip of footage, say for example 7D 24fps, how do I go about integrating in the other footage types into the time line?

Do I need to create new sequences for the different types and frame rates of footage?

Regarding the DSLR sequence presets, they don't include a 60fps option. What is the next best sequence for this type of footage?

What type of sequence would work best for the GoPro footage?

Thank you all for the help!
Blane Nelson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 24th, 2011, 12:30 AM   #2
Trustee
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Miami, FL USA
Posts: 1,483
Re: One Project, Different Frame Rates

Quote from Adobe on-line help file (which is your friend, incidentally, great way to get familiar with the program)

"You can mix clips with different frame rates, frame aspect ratios, and frame sizes in the same sequence. For example, if you drop an HD clip into a sequence in an SD project, the clip will be letter-boxed and scaled to the SD frame size automatically. Similarly, if you drop an SD clip into a sequence in an HD project, the clip will be pillar-boxed automatically.

A render bar will appear above any clip in a Timeline panel with attributes not matching the sequence settings. The render bar indicates that those clips will have to be rendered before final output. However, it doesn't necessarily indicate these clips can't be previewed in real-time. If a yellow render bar appears above the clip, Premiere Pro can probably play it back in real time without rendering. If, however, a red render bar appears above the clip, Premiere Pro probably can not play it back in real time without rendering.

A clip with a frame rate different from the frame rate of the sequence will play back from a sequence at the frame rate of the sequence."
Battle Vaughan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 24th, 2011, 02:24 AM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Copenhagen Denmark
Posts: 70
Re: One Project, Different Frame Rates

Yeah dont mind the jumpy movements tho.
Dominik Krol is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 24th, 2011, 09:40 AM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Federal Way, WA
Posts: 31
Re: One Project, Different Frame Rates

Battle - Thank you! That pretty much explains it for me.
Blane Nelson is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:33 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network