PremierePro/After Effects 5.5 & Non-Supported Video Cards at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Adobe Creative Suite
All about the world of Adobe Premiere and its associated plug-ins.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old September 8th, 2011, 11:19 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: New Lebanon, New York
Posts: 224
PremierePro/After Effects 5.5 & Non-Supported Video Cards

Hello -

I'm doing some research. . .

I very recently purchased/upgraded to a used Early 2009 Mac Pro (2.26 Ghz, 8-Core). I did this for the extra cores, for future expandability and because it was very affordable. I'm just getting it ready to move my software programs from my older Mac Pro (Early 2006, version 1,1) to the newer used one. This includes the Final Cut Pro Studio as well as the Logic Pro Studio programs which I own.

I'm interested in possibly taking advantage of the rather huge discount provided provided by Adobe to current Final Cut Pro users. I own older versions of Adobe's Photoshop and Illustrator, so I'm already somewhat familiar with a couple of the programs that comes with Adobe's newer Production Suite 5.5. I readily use Photoshop to prepare photos for use within Final Cut Pro. To my very modest satisfaction, I've even created simple graphics from within Illustrator that I've also used in Final Cut Pro.

A little more background. . .

At present, I'm still "only" working in standard definition. Haven't progressed up to the hi-def video world yet. I'm not a professional by any means. But, I do a fair amount of video-taping & editing for work-related projects. These video-taped in-services are presented either by DVD or a specially converted internet-based video file. (By the way, I'm a full-time ICU nurse. I was given the "task" of video-taping educational in-services which are viewed by us night nurses and other "off shift" staff. During the past 3+ years, I've video-taped about 35 in-services.) My video cameras: Canon's GL2 and Panasonics AG-DVX100B. Other equipment owned and frequently used to capture the video are the FS-4Pro and FS-H200Pro, both by Focus Enhancements.

Now the questions. . .

My newer Mac Pro (Early 2009) currently has a relatively new ATI Radeon HD 5770 video card. I've read the "compatability list" of video-cards that Adobe recommends for its Production Suite. It seems that all of the video cards on that list are manufactured by NVIDIA (a.k.a. PNY??). It seems that the video cards on that lists greatly helps with some of the functions within Premiere Pro and After Effects. This is fine. My questions are: 1) Are any of these "compatable" video-cards **Absolutely Essential** to run Premiere Pro and After Effects? 2) If it is **Not** essential to use any of these "compatable" video-cards, what loss of function might I expect without them? 3) If it is not essential to have these, can I use, instead, the ATI Radeon HD 5770 video card that's currently installed on the Early 2009 Mac Pro? 4) Given the information that I've provided so far, what problems (if any) might I expect should I use (just) the ATI Radeon HD 5770 video card with the Adobe Creative Production Suite 5.5, (keeping in mind that I'm still working with standard definition video)??

Thank you in advance for your time and thoughtful response.

Respectfully,

Ed (Ted)
__________________
Mac Pro (12-core 3.33GHz): OS X 10.11.6; 32 GBs RAM; NVIDIA Quadro K5000; 8 internal SSDs; 2 external Raid set-ups via eSATA; MOTU 2408 MK3; various audio/video programs
Ed Fiebke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 9th, 2011, 12:38 AM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Woodinville, WA USA
Posts: 3,464
Re: PremierePro/After Effects 5.5 & Non-Supported Video Cards

CS5.5 ATI Compatibility?
__________________
"It can only be attributable to human error... This sort of thing has cropped up before, and it has always been due to human error."
Adam Gold is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 9th, 2011, 02:31 AM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Hampshire, UK
Posts: 693
Re: PremierePro/After Effects 5.5 & Non-Supported Video Cards

The supported cards help speed up rendering and give instant previews. However if you are still in SD land, I wouldn't be worrying as things will be very fast anyway.

Even with HD, the performance doesn't seem any worse than FCP if you don't have a supported card. I have a Mac Pro with a Quadro and it works very well. But if I load a project into my laptop Premiere is still perfectly usable. It's just not as fast at some things. But no slower than it is in FCP.
__________________
Marcus Durham
Media2u, Corporate Video Production For Your Business - http://www.media2u.co.uk
Marcus Durham is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 9th, 2011, 02:35 AM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: New Lebanon, New York
Posts: 224
Re: PremierePro/After Effects 5.5 & Non-Supported Video Cards

Adam -

Thank you for the link. That thread answered most of my questions. Curious, though, is there a way to have real time playback of clips with effects without the video card based acceleration?? For example, in Motion, there's a "RAM Preview" (I forget the actual name of the function). It is my understanding that it basically uses the computer's own RAM to store a clip with more complex effects in order to play it back in real time. If a similar function is provided then purchasing the "CS5.5" seems like a more plausable option for me right now. Of course, when I have the (much) extra $$$$, I can, at a later date, purcahse a video card that's listed on the compatability list.

Marcus -

Thank you for your reply. (I see you posted your response as I was writing my response to Adam. LOL!)

I'll probably be working in standard definition for a while. It meets my needs. (Also, I just too freakin' chicken to dive into high definition right now! LOL!) So, the cross-grade offer that Adobe is offering seems like a more plausable option for me. I'll get the most updated version to Photoshop and Illistrator as well as get (what seems to be quite utilized and respected) After Effects. Then, someday, I'll make a brave move towards high-definition. That may also be a good time to upgrade the video-card.

Thank you both. :)
__________________
Mac Pro (12-core 3.33GHz): OS X 10.11.6; 32 GBs RAM; NVIDIA Quadro K5000; 8 internal SSDs; 2 external Raid set-ups via eSATA; MOTU 2408 MK3; various audio/video programs
Ed Fiebke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 9th, 2011, 10:50 AM   #5
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Woodinville, WA USA
Posts: 3,464
Re: PremierePro/After Effects 5.5 & Non-Supported Video Cards

Hey Ed--

I'm not a Mac guy so I'm completely useless to you in this regard. Sorry, wish I could be of some help.
__________________
"It can only be attributable to human error... This sort of thing has cropped up before, and it has always been due to human error."
Adam Gold is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 9th, 2011, 12:02 PM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: New Lebanon, New York
Posts: 224
Re: PremierePro/After Effects 5.5 & Non-Supported Video Cards

Adam - That link you share provided useful information. And, you took the time to address my question. You were very helpful. :)

Ted
__________________
Mac Pro (12-core 3.33GHz): OS X 10.11.6; 32 GBs RAM; NVIDIA Quadro K5000; 8 internal SSDs; 2 external Raid set-ups via eSATA; MOTU 2408 MK3; various audio/video programs
Ed Fiebke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 9th, 2011, 12:19 PM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 975
Re: PremierePro/After Effects 5.5 & Non-Supported Video Cards

Ed, a CUDA enabled video card like the compatible NVIDIA Quadro and GTX285 cards are not essential. Premiere and AE just roll over to software rendering when a recognized CUDA based card is not in the machine. As stated, you are in SD land still. Your rendering will still be very fast even for event style (read: long) videos which it sounds like you would be handling. There are a lot of short tutorials on Adobe TV on both Premiere and AE. I suggest you watch them. There is a specific one relating to using CUDA based video cards.
Andrew Stone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 9th, 2011, 12:47 PM   #8
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: New Lebanon, New York
Posts: 224
Re: PremierePro/After Effects 5.5 & Non-Supported Video Cards

Andrew -

What you shared is what I need to know. I've done more "surfing" in an attempt to gather more info on the subject. It seems I can upgrade my newer Early 2009 Mac Pro as needed, but that its current configuration (which is pretty powerful at present) should serve me well if I cross-grade to the CS5.5 Production software.

Well. . . I still have my Final Cut Studio. Will be migrating it to the new computer over the next couple of days along with my other programs on the older Mac Pro. While doing the big "migration" I think I'll just go ahead and purchase the CS5.5 Production Suite cross-grade.

Thank you Andrew and all. You're collective input is appreciated and well taken.
__________________
Mac Pro (12-core 3.33GHz): OS X 10.11.6; 32 GBs RAM; NVIDIA Quadro K5000; 8 internal SSDs; 2 external Raid set-ups via eSATA; MOTU 2408 MK3; various audio/video programs
Ed Fiebke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 9th, 2011, 02:08 PM   #9
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Hampshire, UK
Posts: 693
Re: PremierePro/After Effects 5.5 & Non-Supported Video Cards

Just one note about HD editing. On modern hardware it really isn't as scary as you think. I started doing HD five years ago when everything was slow and a pain.

But now it's fairly seamless if you choose the right camera solution. For me going back to interlaced SD is a pain. HD isn't.

Don't want to drag this off-topic but thought I'd mention it.
__________________
Marcus Durham
Media2u, Corporate Video Production For Your Business - http://www.media2u.co.uk
Marcus Durham is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 9th, 2011, 02:29 PM   #10
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 975
Re: PremierePro/After Effects 5.5 & Non-Supported Video Cards

I agree with your approach. The Adobe cross-grade offer (along with the AVID one) is excellent if you are an FCP user. There are used NVIDIA Quadro cards for Mac Pro's available as well but you have just bought a machine and now buying CS5.5 Production Premium. Waiting on other purchases is prudent in my view.
Andrew Stone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 10th, 2011, 03:35 AM   #11
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Norwich, Norfolk, UK
Posts: 3,445
Re: PremierePro/After Effects 5.5 & Non-Supported Video Cards

We have two 2008 dual quad 2.8GHz Mac Pros & have just started using Premiere Pro. For one machine I sourced a used GTX 285 that is CUDA enabled while the other has an ATI Radeon HD 5770. We are editing in H.264 MPEG4 files from Canon DSLRs & MXF files from Canon XF105/305 & I see no difference in performance between the two machines although we have so far done relatively simple edits. I suspect that with dual CPU Mac Pros that there are plenty of spare CPU cores available to do software rendering so the lack of hardware rendering on the graphics card is not going to be important.
Nigel Barker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 11th, 2011, 03:53 AM   #12
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Stockholm - Sweden
Posts: 343
Re: PremierePro/After Effects 5.5 & Non-Supported Video Cards

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nigel Barker View Post
We have two 2008 dual quad 2.8GHz Mac Pros & have just started using Premiere Pro. For one machine I sourced a used GTX 285 that is CUDA enabled while the other has an ATI Radeon HD 5770. We are editing in H.264 MPEG4 files from Canon DSLRs & MXF files from Canon XF105/305 & I see no difference in performance between the two machines although we have so far done relatively simple edits. I suspect that with dual CPU Mac Pros that there are plenty of spare CPU cores available to do software rendering so the lack of hardware rendering on the graphics card is not going to be important.
The day you start to add filters to the video you will see the difference. For example, use the RGB Curves and color correct the clips on the timeline. Now you will see the difference between the GPU Acceleration and the Software renderer when you export the timeline.

I did a test a couple of days ago with RGB Curves on all clips. The timeline is 36 minutes long:
- GPU Acceleration: It took 51 minutes to export
- Software renderer: It took +9 hours to export

12 core machine with a Quadro 5000, Windows 7.
__________________
/Roger
Roger Averdahl is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:22 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network