Mpeg2 aspect ratio at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Adobe Creative Suite
All about the world of Adobe Premiere and its associated plug-ins.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old August 31st, 2005, 03:46 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Surprise, AZ
Posts: 144
Mpeg2 aspect ratio

When i render out a mpeg2 of some 16x9 footage and burn it to dvd it displays on my tv as 4:3 - stretched. It plays fine on the computer but not on any dvd player. Any ideas?
__________________
Vlog On!
http://youtube.com/clintus
Clint Comer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 31st, 2005, 05:48 PM   #2
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Ohio
Posts: 1,152
1. Did you choose one of the MPEG-2 16x9 presets in the Adobe Media Encoder?

2. Is your DVD player set up correctly to letterbox anamorphic 16x9 footage?
__________________
Christopher Lefchik :: My Spot on the WWW

:: Got questions? Need answers? Try a DV Info search! ::
Christopher Lefchik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 5th, 2005, 11:58 AM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Surprise, AZ
Posts: 144
I don't think it was a preset but 16x9 was selected. It plays 16x9 on the computer but not in a dvd player. When I render out the same clip as a dv avi it plays fine in the dvd player; letter boxed and all.
__________________
Vlog On!
http://youtube.com/clintus
Clint Comer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 5th, 2005, 06:08 PM   #4
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Ohio
Posts: 1,152
Quote:
Originally Posted by Clint Comer
It plays 16x9 on the computer but not in a dvd player.
So you are saying that the MPEG-2 clip plays with the correct 16x9 aspect ratio on your computer?
Quote:
Originally Posted by Clint Comer
When I render out the same clip as a dv avi it plays fine in the dvd player; letter boxed and all.
This I don't understand, as no DVD player I know of can play back avi files.
__________________
Christopher Lefchik :: My Spot on the WWW

:: Got questions? Need answers? Try a DV Info search! ::
Christopher Lefchik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 8th, 2005, 01:03 AM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Surprise, AZ
Posts: 144
Ok. I render out an mpeg-2 out of premiere and make a dvd with encore. It does not play letterboxed in a dvd player. I render out a dv avi out of premiere and make the dvd with encore and it plays in 16x9 in a dvd player. Encore can trascode both formats.
__________________
Vlog On!
http://youtube.com/clintus
Clint Comer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 8th, 2005, 09:12 AM   #6
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Ohio
Posts: 1,152
It sounds like the 16x9 flag is not being set on the MPEG-2 file you import into Encore DVD. If the MPEG-2 file you import is not flagged as 16x9 then the DVD player will see it as 4x3, and it will not letterbox the video when it is played. If you have Encore DVD 1.5 you can specify the aspect ratio of a video file. (This feature is not available in Encore DVD 1.0.)

From the Encore DVD 1.5 User Guide


To interpret footage:

1. Select the file in the Project tab.

2. Choose File > Interpret Footage.

3. in the Interpret Footage dialog box, Select Conform to, and then choose the appropriate pixel aspect ratio:

-Square Pixels (1.0) for a file created using square pixels.

-Standard (0.9) or (1.066) for a file created using nonsquare pixels with an aspect ration of 0.9 (NTSC) or 1.066 (PAL).

-Widescreen (1.2) or (1.422) for a file created using nonsquare pixels with an aspect ratio of 1.2 (NTSC) or 1.422 (PAL).

4. Click OK.
__________________
Christopher Lefchik :: My Spot on the WWW

:: Got questions? Need answers? Try a DV Info search! ::
Christopher Lefchik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 31st, 2005, 10:10 AM   #7
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Surprise, AZ
Posts: 144
Ok. the interpret footage option is not available. Nor am I able to change the aspect ration of the timeline the mpg is in. It's set to 4:3 and is not highlited to change. And since I have to transoce it on import and can not untranscode it, I have no clue what to do. Any help?
__________________
Vlog On!
http://youtube.com/clintus
Clint Comer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 5th, 2006, 12:43 PM   #8
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Surprise, AZ
Posts: 144
Well I have figured out that I was rendering out the wrong type of mpeg. Now with a 23.976 fps with the 3:2 pull down I dont have to transcode and it sees it at 16:9. The other work around I was doing was importing an avi and then replacing the asset with the mpeg. that worked too. But u still had to transcode.
__________________
Vlog On!
http://youtube.com/clintus
Clint Comer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 5th, 2006, 05:09 PM   #9
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Ohio
Posts: 1,152
Clint,

Glad to hear you got it figured out.
__________________
Christopher Lefchik :: My Spot on the WWW

:: Got questions? Need answers? Try a DV Info search! ::
Christopher Lefchik is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:37 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network