DVD Authoring Help, Video Doesn't Fit To Edges! at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Adobe Creative Suite
All about the world of Adobe Premiere and its associated plug-ins.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old October 19th, 2012, 09:50 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: www.faymusmedia.com
Posts: 203
DVD Authoring Help, Video Doesn't Fit To Edges!

I am exporting to encore cs6 via premiere pro cs6. Its a DSLR 1080p 23.98 timeline. Once i have built all my menus and export all goes well. Except one thing:

DVD is 720x480, however in order for the frame to line up horizontally it would need to be 720x405. Thats the equal proportion of 1920x1080.

Any suggestions?


EDIT: when i close my project and reopen encore cs6, the project is in tact just as i left it, except the timeline is empty, all assets still there though. Why is this??

Last edited by Corey Benoit; October 19th, 2012 at 10:21 PM.
Corey Benoit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 20th, 2012, 01:15 AM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Calgary, Canada
Posts: 85
Re: DVD Authoring Help, Video Doesn't Fit To Edges!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Corey Benoit View Post
I am exporting to encore cs6 via premiere pro cs6. Its a DSLR 1080p 23.98 timeline. Once i have built all my menus and export all goes well. Except one thing:

DVD is 720x480, however in order for the frame to line up horizontally it would need to be 720x405. Thats the equal proportion of 1920x1080.
Any suggestions?
The screen aspect ratios of HD and SD are different. The pixel aspect ratios are also different. Were you expecting them to look the same? If you don't want the black pillars, try nesting your HD timeline into an Widescreen SD timeline, then scale it so the width matches and there is no black. This mean you will trim some off of the top and bottom though.


Quote:
when i close my project and reopen encore cs6, the project is in tact just as i left it, except the timeline is empty, all assets still there though. Why is this??
When you say the timeline is empty, do you mean there is nothing to play in the monitor, or did the movie's timeline only closed and doesn't show up in the timeline panel?
Kevin Currie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 20th, 2012, 01:27 AM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: www.faymusmedia.com
Posts: 203
Re: DVD Authoring Help, Video Doesn't Fit To Edges!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kevin Currie View Post
The screen aspect ratios of HD and SD are different. The pixel aspect ratios are also different. Were you expecting them to look the same? If you don't want the black pillars, try nesting your HD timeline into an Widescreen SD timeline, then scale it so the width matches and there is no black. This mean you will trim some off of the top and bottom though.



When you say the timeline is empty, do you mean there is nothing to play in the monitor, or did the movie's timeline only closed and doesn't show up in the timeline panel?
How do i do this? I just took the 720x480 sent it out to a MPEG file to play on my DVD player and it fills the screen like a DVD would, however that could be auto scaling and i am unsure if all tv's will do this.

So whats your recommendations for the best possible playback on DVD? I also am thinking about just going bluray as its quite easy i hear right? For now i am may start burning bluray to DVD discs because all my projects are less than 10 minutes in length. So at 15mbps that would fill a DVD in bluray format and retain full 1080p.


I mean that everything is there, except the timeline at the bottom, as soon as i open up premiere pro and open the project the timeline just shows up. Kinda weird.

Last edited by Corey Benoit; October 20th, 2012 at 07:00 AM.
Corey Benoit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 20th, 2012, 04:43 AM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 694
Re: DVD Authoring Help, Video Doesn't Fit To Edges!

In the export settings you will find Crop settings (left pain)
Set it to Scale to Fill, that will get rid of the black bars.
As said before HD is exactly 16:9 as DVD widescreen is not, hence the black bars.

Double click in the sequence in the project panel to get the timeline back (if i understand the issue correctly).
Ann Bens is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 22nd, 2012, 10:44 PM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: www.faymusmedia.com
Posts: 203
Re: DVD Authoring Help, Video Doesn't Fit To Edges!

i finally got everything working! Thanks guys! the button fit to fill, allowed slight scaling to allow no bars!

One question tho, how come when i use FCPX and Compressor 4, i dont have to do that? It automatically takes the bars away.

Like in PPcs6 if i dont select "fit to fill" there will be bars on the left and right side on the widescreen tv.

In FCPX and Comp 4, i just select DVD and settings i want and export and its all done automatically. Isnt this weird?
Corey Benoit is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:35 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network