Can't import footage into Prem Pro CS6 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Adobe Creative Suite
All about the world of Adobe Premiere and its associated plug-ins.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old January 4th, 2013, 05:45 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 162
Can't import footage into Prem Pro CS6

Hi, all--and Happy New Year! Recently acquired PP-CS6, stepping up from CS4. I am assembling some demo footage and in trying to import some wedding files, CS6 won't take them and I get an error message saying "There was an error decompressing audio or video." This shouldn't be an issue and I have no problem with any other footage I'm trying to bring in--regardless of format or HD or SD. Any thoughts?

Thx!
TW
__________________
Rule #1: Don't sweat the small stuff. Rule #2: It's ALL small stuff!
Terry Wall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 4th, 2013, 08:16 PM   #2
Trustee
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Miami, FL USA
Posts: 1,482
Re: Can't import footage into Prem Pro CS6

Sounds like a missing-codec problem, perhaps. You can see what codec is on you footage with freeware like Mediainfo or GSpot, if that codec is not in PPro it won't be able to open it.

Might be able to convert in another program -- quicktime, mpegstreamclip, NCH's Prizm, for example --- to a codec that your nle has, if that's the problem.

Or the file could be corrupted...does it play ok in other apps?
Battle Vaughan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 4th, 2013, 09:09 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 162
Re: Can't import footage into Prem Pro CS6

Battle, I would think it might be corrupted, except that the files open and play just fine in PPro CS4! So it's puzzling, since I'm still in the same software family. It's your basic HDV file...easily within the range of Adobe's "latest and greatest," I would think!

Thx!
TW
__________________
Rule #1: Don't sweat the small stuff. Rule #2: It's ALL small stuff!
Terry Wall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 6th, 2013, 02:04 PM   #4
Trustee
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Miami, FL USA
Posts: 1,482
Re: Can't import footage into Prem Pro CS6

Depends on what codec made the HDV file. For example, the Mac HDV codec that you find in Mac Quicktime and FCP will not play on Windows without a third party codec (calibrated_q is one source). If for some reason the original files were from a mac, that would be the problem. Or some similar situation, but it still sounds like a codec thing.
Battle Vaughan is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:03 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network