Rolling titles on CS5 PREMIERE PRO PROBLEM at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Adobe Creative Suite
All about the world of Adobe Premiere and its associated plug-ins.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old April 15th, 2014, 02:20 AM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 325
Rolling titles on CS5 PREMIERE PRO PROBLEM

I am having a problem with making a rolling title do what I want it to do, and I hope someone can put me right. It might be me (usually is) or the titling programme is not working right. When I have finished putting the text in the title, no matter what number I put in the pre-roll box, even if I put no number in, the result on playback is always the same, it shows at least 10 SECONDS of black screen before the roll starts. If I extend the title clip on the timeline to make the roll slower, then the black screen at the beginning is progressively longer. Any suggestions welcome, Is it me or the titler not working correctly?
Roy Alexander is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 15th, 2014, 05:52 AM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: York, England
Posts: 502
Re: Rolling titles on CS5 PREMIERE PRO PROBLEM

I've never found the titler settings for roll to be reliable and always create a static title and use keyframes to move as I want it.
Alan Craven is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 15th, 2014, 10:01 AM   #3
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Woodinville, WA USA
Posts: 3,464
Re: Rolling titles on CS5 PREMIERE PRO PROBLEM

Try lining up the text at the top of the box in the Title Window. Select it, grab it and drag the whole thing to the top of the Title Safe Area.
__________________
"It can only be attributable to human error... This sort of thing has cropped up before, and it has always been due to human error."
Adam Gold is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 16th, 2014, 06:04 AM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 325
Re: Rolling titles on CS5 PREMIERE PRO PROBLEM

ALAN. Thanks for your input. Other people on other forums have agreed with you about Adobe's titler being unreliable when using the roll settings. However I seem to have got round the problem and have at least got a roll that starts quickly. But I am limited the the amount of text I can use.

ADAM. It makes no difference where I place the text. Actually it is a long introductory description I am using that fills the titler screen.
Roy Alexander is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 16th, 2014, 11:45 AM   #5
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Woodinville, WA USA
Posts: 3,464
Re: Rolling titles on CS5 PREMIERE PRO PROBLEM

For the benefit of others, what was your solution/workaround?
__________________
"It can only be attributable to human error... This sort of thing has cropped up before, and it has always been due to human error."
Adam Gold is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 16th, 2014, 03:32 PM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 325
Re: Rolling titles on CS5 PREMIERE PRO PROBLEM

ALAN. Maybe what I have got is not a genuine roll to some people but is suits me at the moment.
I first make my title as a default still and fill the title screen with as much text as possible. I then open the roll settings and click on default roll. I then click on the 'start of screen' box and then put in the number of frames I need in the Post Roll box. The result is that now the roll starts quickly and when all the message is on the screen it stays for the number of frames I selected. This result will not suit everyone and I wish I could use more text. I think perhaps I will try if I can put more text beyond the bottom of the title screen before I switch from Still to Roll and see what happens. Best wishes and thanks for your interest.
Roy Alexander is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 18th, 2014, 07:26 PM   #7
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Anna Illinois
Posts: 35
Re: Rolling titles on CS5 PREMIERE PRO PROBLEM

I ran into the same situation in a video I just did. How about putting the roll above the main video track and to the left enough to absorb some of the wait? Haven't tried this yet...
Dave O'Melia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 19th, 2014, 10:38 AM   #8
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 694
Re: Rolling titles on CS5 PREMIERE PRO PROBLEM

Workaround is to make the text in Photoshop and keyframe position in Premiere.
__________________
ACE Premiere Pro CC
Adobe Community Professional
Ann Bens is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 19th, 2014, 11:37 AM   #9
New Boot
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Port St. Lucie
Posts: 16
Re: Rolling titles on CS5 PREMIERE PRO PROBLEM

Nero works fine for me and that's rolling, fades, etc.
Nick Danaluk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 19th, 2014, 07:57 PM   #10
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Anna Illinois
Posts: 35
Re: Rolling titles on CS5 PREMIERE PRO PROBLEM

Just tried the method I described. Works very well. I make the text file in notepad...
Dave O'Melia is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:48 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network