4k 4096x2304 clips, what hardware to playback? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Adobe Creative Suite
All about the world of Adobe Premiere and its associated plug-ins.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old November 16th, 2015, 01:26 AM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 293
4k 4096x2304 clips, what hardware to playback?

What do I need to playback clips in Premiere that are 4k resolution? I have a Core i7 920 18gig ram a GTX 570 HD , 250 SSD C Drive. 1 drive for video clips.

Would I be able to get it to play if I made a raid 0? or will I have to upgrade other PC parts, or even get a new PC.

The clip is 4k in the Cineform 12bit

Is there another 4k codec that is lighter on the system? 1 min in the Cinform codec is about 36 gigs.

thanks
Dave Morgan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 16th, 2015, 10:14 PM   #2
Trustee
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Coronado Island
Posts: 1,452
Re: 4k 4096x2304 clips, what hardware to playback?

I would think a RAID 0 would be very helpful.
I used to edit exclusively in Cineform HD and always used a RAID 0 as the media drive.
The CF codec is "lightly" compressed and not a big strain on your CPU & RAM in the way that highly compressed codecs like AVCHD are.
The challenge with CF editing is the large size of the data stream- so in most systems, success will come down to the speed of your drives
I think your CPU and RAM are adequate.
Add a RAID and you should be fine...
__________________
Bob
Robert Young is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 17th, 2015, 03:53 AM   #3
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Belgium
Posts: 9,064
Re: 4k 4096x2304 clips, what hardware to playback?

One more vote for a raid, 36gig for one minute of footage is a enormous bitrate though, what is the footage you are converting from?
Noa Put is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 27th, 2015, 07:10 PM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Hamilton, New Zealand
Posts: 745
Re: 4k 4096x2304 clips, what hardware to playback?

36GB per min is around 600MB per second (if my calculations are correct). Even most RAID arrays won't handle that if you're using mechanical drives (unless you're using more than a few of them).

Is there a way you can convert to Cineform but at a lower bitrate, closer to that of what your original footage is shot at?
Jody Arnott is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:43 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network