Setting up scratch raid drives for Premiere 2 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Adobe Creative Suite
All about the world of Adobe Premiere and its associated plug-ins.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old February 9th, 2006, 10:52 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Brooklyn / USA / Russia
Posts: 33
Setting up scratch raid drives for Premiere 2

I have next configuration of hard drives for HDV editing:

1. 2 sata 200gb in raid 0 (windows xp x64 and programs)
2. two 400gb raid 0 sata drives (storage)
3. one 120gb ata (scratch drive for windows)

Now we have next files in Adobe Premiere 2:

Project files
Captured Video Video files
Captured Audio Audio files
Video Previews Files
Audio Previews Files
Media Cache Files (what is it for??)
DVD Encoding Files

Where should i place these in current configuration?
If my captured files located on one drive, then should i render to different drive or all of captured files stored in media cache files that i can store on different drive?

Sorry, i'm lost.
__________________
russian in new york | graphic designer | filmmaker | http://www.designkarma.com | Sony HDR-HC1

Last edited by Timofei Youriev; February 10th, 2006 at 10:04 AM.
Timofei Youriev is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 11th, 2006, 06:28 PM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: DuPont, Wa
Posts: 325
Quote:
Originally Posted by Timofei Youriev
I have next configuration of hard drives for HDV editing:

1. 2 sata 200gb in raid 0 (windows xp x64 and programs)
2. two 400gb raid 0 sata drives (storage)
3. one 120gb ata (scratch drive for windows)

Now we have next files in Adobe Premiere 2:

Project files
Captured Video Video files
Captured Audio Audio files
Video Previews Files
Audio Previews Files
Media Cache Files (what is it for??)
DVD Encoding Files
Considering they are SATA drives it's really not important to seperate all the files anymore like it was with IDE. I have broken the scratch disks out and just kept them all on the same drive with no performance differnce for me..

Here's my structure:

D: DRIVE (400GB SATA)
E: DRIVE (500GB SATA)
F: DRIVE (150MB RaptorX)
E: DRIVE (150MB RaptorX)

Project files (D:\PROJECTNAME\
Captured Video Video files (E:\PROJECTNAME\)
Captured Audio Audio files (E:\PROJECTNAME\)
Video Previews Files (F:\PROJECTNAME\)
Audio Previews Files (F:\PROJECTNAME\)
Media Cache Files (what is it for??) (F:\PROJECTNAME\
DVD Encoding Files

Media Cache are the transcodes I believe are stored there for the new dvd builder in Premiere..
Pat Sherman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 12th, 2006, 10:26 AM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Brooklyn / USA / Russia
Posts: 33
thanks Pat, here is another tread regarding scratch: http://www.dvinfo.net/conf/showthread.php?t=60314
__________________
russian in new york | graphic designer | filmmaker | http://www.designkarma.com | Sony HDR-HC1
Timofei Youriev is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:01 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network