results from this setup at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > All Things Audio

All Things Audio
Everything Audio, from acquisition to postproduction.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old January 18th, 2009, 01:14 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: east coast
Posts: 91
results from this setup

if i get some tax money back may get this setup. record direct into camera with a schoeps,sd 302 with headphones. Would directly into camera be a waste if i got decent equipment like the shoeps and sd?

Ive heard samples with the sd being used and it really made a difference. Going into camera will be much easier for me. (should specify it would go into a canon a1)

Last edited by Mike Leah; January 18th, 2009 at 02:41 PM.
Mike Leah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 18th, 2009, 01:31 PM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 186
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike Leah View Post
if i get some tax money back may get this setup. record direct into camera with a schoeps,sd 302 with headphones. Would directly into camera be a waste if i got decent equipment like the shoeps and sd?

Ive heard samples with the sd being used and it really made a difference. Going into camera will be much easier for me.
People record straight into camera day in and day out. It wouldn't be a waste unless the camera can't handle the audio properly.
Jeffery Magat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 18th, 2009, 04:15 PM   #3
Trustee
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 1,158
well put another way -

I have a HD100. I've had the audio board replaced. At mic level, its noisy, at line level its clean. using an external mixer sending line to the camera nets me good-as-its-gonna-get sound without going into a separate audio recorder.

so if your preamps are reasonably clean AND put out enough phantom power, you could do it to start with. down the road, having a mixer is more versatile when needing to add more mics, or feed 2-3 cams.

another things is that when having low dialog levels, the mixer preamps will be cleaner then the cameras if you are really using the gain.

so you could start with a great mic feeding the camera, then add the mixer down the road, or get a SD single or dual channel preamp which is cheaper, and might be enough for your needs for some time to come.

of course don't forget a decent boom and lyra shock mount.
Steve Oakley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 18th, 2009, 06:00 PM   #4
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 1,267
You don't say which Schoeps but you are going in a good direction. FYI the SD302 going into the Canon at Line Level usually means running the Canon inputs wide open just to get to -20.
Daniel Epstein is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 18th, 2009, 06:57 PM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: east coast
Posts: 91
thanks for all the replies. Most likely the cmit5u. Audio is a much greater challenge for me than shooting.
Mike Leah is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > All Things Audio

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:41 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network