Sony ECM 55 Lavalier Mic at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > All Things Audio

All Things Audio
Everything Audio, from acquisition to postproduction.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old July 2nd, 2004, 10:47 AM   #1
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 8
Sony ECM 55 Lavalier Mic

Hi - I recently got hold of one of these mics not boxed, no instructions & no connector.

I'm familiar with audio recording and use a range of studio quality mics with & without phantom power (its Dv that I'm new too - thanks to this forum I've taken my first steps.. nothing fancy as yet).

Back to the question. I know that the Sony needs power and I've seen reference to a battery pack for it but can I simply wire an XLR to it and run it from the desk or my Di box (which has 48v Phantom Power) or will this fry it?

Here's hoping its that simple
Cris Linscott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 2nd, 2004, 01:19 PM   #2
Trustee
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Ann Arbor, MI
Posts: 1,327
The Sony ECM-55b we have has a amplifier body which takes a single AA battery.

If yours does not have this, I would then assume it will be okay to send
it 48v phantom.
__________________
Jacques Mersereau
University of Michigan-Video Studio Manager
Jacques Mersereau is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 2nd, 2004, 03:01 PM   #3
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 8
Thanks Jacques - I'll be getting on with the soldering then.......
Cris Linscott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 2nd, 2004, 03:40 PM   #4
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Burlington
Posts: 1,961
The regular power supply for this mic contains other electronics, I wouldn't connect it directly to 48v power. I'd consult with someone from Lectrosonics. They could tell you how to properly wire the mic capsule directly to a low-powered supply like a transmitter input. They could also point you in the right direction for info on a full-powered adapter.
Jay Massengill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 3rd, 2004, 10:52 AM   #5
Trustee
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Ann Arbor, MI
Posts: 1,327
Yeah, I guess I whiffed here. What I should have said, if your ECM55b
does NOT have the amplifier body THAT TAKES A BATTERY, but DOES
still HAVE an amplifier body non the less, THEN its okay to hook up phantom.

I didn't realize that your mic went to a bare (cut) wire.

Have I got this picture right? Does your mic have any kind of connector?
__________________
Jacques Mersereau
University of Michigan-Video Studio Manager
Jacques Mersereau is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 3rd, 2004, 11:56 AM   #6
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 8
Jacques/Jay - I should have been more specific - I've done some more research following Jay's posting - The model is, in fact, a 55BPT - its unused and has approx 3 metres of cable leading from the capsule terminating in three tinned cut wires (one of which is sheathed red, the other thicker braided and the final a fine wire) - appreciate your help with this - normally I'd contact the manufacturers support section but Sony Professional products here in UK seemed to be hidden from all... finally tracked down to www.sonybiz.net but silence from that quarter - What do you think?
Cris Linscott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 3rd, 2004, 12:36 PM   #7
Retired DV Info Net Almunus
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 6,943
Cris,
Sorry to get to this a tad late. I have two Sony ECM-55B's. I am sure I can scan the brochure and email it to you if you believe it would be helpful. Just let me know.
__________________
Lady X Films: A lady with a boring wardrobe...and a global mission.

Hey, you don't have enough stuff!
Buy with confidence from our sponsors. Hand-picked as the best in the business...Really!

See some of my work one frame at a time: www.KenTanaka.com
Ken Tanaka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 3rd, 2004, 01:54 PM   #8
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 8
Ken - thank you - that'd be real helpful - my first time with lavalier mics so everything helps!
Cris Linscott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 3rd, 2004, 05:57 PM   #9
Trustee
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Ann Arbor, MI
Posts: 1,327
The two ECM-55b that we have both have amp bodies that take a single
AA battery.

Ken?
__________________
Jacques Mersereau
University of Michigan-Video Studio Manager
Jacques Mersereau is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 4th, 2004, 04:40 PM   #10
Retired DV Info Net Almunus
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 6,943
Yes, the 55B's have an inline module that takes one AA battery as a power source. However, I am not sure of its other functions. I've never tried to use the mics without this module.

Will dig-up the brochure asap. (Holiday doin's here right now.)
__________________
Lady X Films: A lady with a boring wardrobe...and a global mission.

Hey, you don't have enough stuff!
Buy with confidence from our sponsors. Hand-picked as the best in the business...Really!

See some of my work one frame at a time: www.KenTanaka.com
Ken Tanaka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 6th, 2004, 12:04 AM   #11
Retired DV Info Net Almunus
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 6,943
I haven't forgotten you, Cris.

Just had a rather busy holiday weekend. Will dig up the brochure Tuesday.
__________________
Lady X Films: A lady with a boring wardrobe...and a global mission.

Hey, you don't have enough stuff!
Buy with confidence from our sponsors. Hand-picked as the best in the business...Really!

See some of my work one frame at a time: www.KenTanaka.com
Ken Tanaka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 6th, 2004, 03:31 AM   #12
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 8
Ken - thanks, in your own time, hope it was a good holiday weekend - have had a reply from Sony.... ".. please contact your dealer for this information". Boy, wished I'd thought of that!
Cris Linscott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 6th, 2004, 10:43 AM   #13
Retired DV Info Net Almunus
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 6,943
Check your email, Cris. I sent it to you this morning.
__________________
Lady X Films: A lady with a boring wardrobe...and a global mission.

Hey, you don't have enough stuff!
Buy with confidence from our sponsors. Hand-picked as the best in the business...Really!

See some of my work one frame at a time: www.KenTanaka.com
Ken Tanaka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 7th, 2004, 04:38 AM   #14
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 8
Ken - thanks very much for the brochure - I've been able to use it with a UK company who confirm that 55BPT relates to "pigtail" ie bare wiring, and that a Sony DC78 power supply is required (as others on the forum have noted). A Hirose type connector is used on the bare wires to connect to the power supply the output to the desk is then on an XLR. The 55BPT option is for those who already have such a supply. Thanks for the help and observations
Cris Linscott is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > All Things Audio

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:13 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network