Zoom H2 - record using input and built-in mic? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > All Things Audio

All Things Audio
Everything Audio, from acquisition to postproduction.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old March 25th, 2010, 02:18 AM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Richmond, Canada
Posts: 117
Zoom H2 - record using input and built-in mic?

Hello,

I'm looking into buying a Zoom H2 for the events I film and I thought of something interesting I was hoping to do.

Can you record using the built-in mic AND an external mic?

It would be pretty cool to record a concert, for example, with a feed from the mixer with the vocal mics in the left channel, and the overal sound using the built-in mic in the right channel.

Or is this something the H4 can do, since it has 2 XLR inputs? (so if I'm not able to record with an input and built-in mic, then at least I can use one input with a direct feed from the mixer, and one input for an external mic?)

But then again I can probably get 2 H2's for the price of an H4 and record them separately :p
Chris Estrella is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 25th, 2010, 03:24 AM   #2
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 1,104
The manual (p18) says: 'When a cable is plugged into one of these jacks [external mic or line in], the built-in mics are turned off.'
Renton Maclachlan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 25th, 2010, 10:45 AM   #3
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 3,259
The Zoom H4n does specifically that!

Record 4-channels (that's the "4" in H4n), two from the stereo pair of mics (or 3.5mm input) and the other two from the XLR/TRS inputs.

The manual is not very helpful for this mode (manual is not very helpful, period!), but, I was able to figure it out with some determination and the H4n in my hand.

Of course it's a lot bigger than the H2... and doesn't have surround mics.
__________________
30 years of pro media production. Vegas user since 1.0. Webcaster since 1997. Freelancer since 2000. College instructor since 2001.
Seth Bloombaum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 25th, 2010, 11:04 AM   #4
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Cambridge UK
Posts: 2,835
I have a Zoom H2 and one other thing to note is that the input mic jack is pretty noisy - much worse than the noise floor when using the on-board mics, which as stated are disabled when you use it. Seems this option brings out the worst in the Zoom H2's amplifier. There is very detailed info about all this on the Zoom forum and how best to use a H2 - just google it.

I find I get best results with the 4 on-board stereo mics configured in 2 of the various options available (2 at 90 degress or 2 at 120 degrees - I personally never use the surround sound with all 4) and of course making sure it's pretty close to the sound source.

My opinion is that it's not a bad unit (especially for the price!) but I just accept it's got limited utility regarding plugging any mic into it so don't do that - I use a Fostex FR2-LE for those things.
__________________
Andy K Wilkinson - http://www.shootingimage.co.uk
Cambridge (UK) Corporate Video Production
Andy Wilkinson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 30th, 2010, 04:46 PM   #5
Trustee
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 1,589
Seth, which settings have you dialled in to the H4n to record the two onboard stereo mics at the same time as two mics plugged into the XLR ports?
__________________
www.WILDCARP.com
www.NIKON.me.uk
Tony Davies-Patrick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 30th, 2010, 09:28 PM   #6
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Woodinville, WA USA
Posts: 3,464
Page 37-39. MENU > MODE > 4CH.
__________________
"It can only be attributable to human error... This sort of thing has cropped up before, and it has always been due to human error."
Adam Gold is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 30th, 2010, 11:38 PM   #7
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 3,259
What Adam said!

Plus, please review post 95 in this thread:
The new H4n recorder

Part of the 150-post thread when the H4n first came out, I was pretty happy to discover that when in 4-ch record mode, there is a new menu function that comes available, "mixer", allowing independent recording level control.
__________________
30 years of pro media production. Vegas user since 1.0. Webcaster since 1997. Freelancer since 2000. College instructor since 2001.
Seth Bloombaum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 31st, 2010, 02:43 AM   #8
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Florida, USA
Posts: 75
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris Estrella View Post
But then again I can probably get 2 H2's for the price of an H4 and record them separately :p
You might want to hold off until the Zoom H1 ships:

Zoom H1 – Sneak Peak VIDEO
__________________
[T2i/550D] [17-55 IS USM] [Zoom H2] [HoodLoupe/HoodMAG 3.0]

Last edited by Stan Chase; March 31st, 2010 at 03:27 AM.
Stan Chase is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > All Things Audio

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:32 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network