Various SGpro topics - Page 2 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Special Interest Areas > Alternative Imaging Methods

Alternative Imaging Methods
DV Info Net is the birthplace of all 35mm adapters.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old June 21st, 2007, 06:46 AM   #16
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Brighton, East Sussex, UK
Posts: 938
SGpro r3 footage

Hi guys,

I shot some footage over the weekend with the SGpro r3 and my FX1. I hardly ever get a chance to shoot anything so made a nice break from assembling adapters :)

Below are some grabs, no CC:

http://www.sgpro.co.uk/Sequence%2001.jpg

http://www.sgpro.co.uk/Sequence%2002.jpg

http://www.sgpro.co.uk/Sequence%2003.jpg

http://www.sgpro.co.uk/Sequence%2004.jpg

http://www.sgpro.co.uk/Sequence%2005.jpg


My problem is I want to upload a video, but I cant find any good output/render settings. I am using Premiere pro 2 and captured using premieres standard capture (not cineform).

Im not sure to if I should output to quicktime h.264 or a wmv file. I try but it comes out really soft, and I want to show how sharp this footage has come out.

Would anyone be kind enough to share some output settings so I can show the footage?

I also have tests shot with 1/600th shutter that I would like to show...

----------------
EDIT:

I have uploaded a small version of some of the shots:

640x360 wmv, 96MB:

http://www.sgpro.co.uk/SGpror3_FX1.wmv

If people would like to see full res parts of this (say about 8 second clips), let me know which part.

I still need to upload the 1/600th shutter test....
-------------------------
__________________
Thanks,
Wayne.

Last edited by Wayne Kinney; June 21st, 2007 at 12:41 PM. Reason: link added
Wayne Kinney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 21st, 2007, 10:31 AM   #18
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 195
What F-stop was each still taken with? ND? Cam aperture?

Will you be uploading full resolution pics and footage?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wayne Kinney View Post
My problem is I want to upload a video, but I cant find any good output/render settings. I am using Premiere pro 2 and captured using premieres standard capture (not cineform).

Im not sure to if I should output to quicktime h.264 or a wmv file. I try but it comes out really soft, and I want to show how sharp this footage has come out.

Would anyone be kind enough to share some output settings so I can show the footage?
I prefer DivX .avi files... they look so much better than h.264 .mp4's.
Jon Wolding is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 21st, 2007, 10:49 AM   #19
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Brighton, East Sussex, UK
Posts: 938
Hi,

The 50mm lens was mostly @ F4, the FX1 aperture around F3.5 with ND filter on.

The 85mm lens again @ F4, but the 20mm lens was wide open @ F2.8

Here are 2 full res clips:

http://www.sgpro.co.uk/Sequence%2004.wmv

http://www.sgpro.co.uk/Sequence%2003.wmv

Im just uploading some more stuff....
__________________
Thanks,
Wayne.
Wayne Kinney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 21st, 2007, 12:41 PM   #20
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Brighton, East Sussex, UK
Posts: 938
I have uploaded a small version of some of the shots:

640x360 wmv, 96MB:

http://www.sgpro.co.uk/SGpror3_FX1.wmv

If people would like to see full res parts of this (say about 8 second clips), let me know which part.

I still need to upload the 1/600th shutter test....
__________________
Thanks,
Wayne.
Wayne Kinney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 21st, 2007, 02:27 PM   #21
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 195
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wayne Kinney View Post
The 50mm lens was mostly @ F4, the FX1 aperture around F3.5 with ND filter on.

The 85mm lens again @ F4, but the 20mm lens was wide open @ F2.8
Thanks.

Bokeh looks good.
In both clips, there's a weird black outline on objects when they're in focus (wheat, left side of the man's jaw, right sleeve of t-shirt, etc.) they're in the frame grabs as well... what's causing that? The camera?
Jon Wolding is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 21st, 2007, 02:50 PM   #22
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Brighton, East Sussex, UK
Posts: 938
Hi,

Not too sure what you are refering to?
__________________
Thanks,
Wayne.
Wayne Kinney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 21st, 2007, 03:06 PM   #23
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: London
Posts: 49
Maybe it's just me but I'm seeing a lot of grain in the out of focus highlights, they also seem a bit grey and murky as they make the transition form out of focus to focus.

Maybe it's the compression. Or maybe it's that I've been staring at a screen at the editors all day.
Stephen Pipe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 21st, 2007, 03:11 PM   #24
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Brighton, East Sussex, UK
Posts: 938
Stephen,

The grain (actually video noise) is in the uncompressed footage, coming from my FX1.

The murkyness is the wmv compression.

If you like, I can upload a low compressed quicktime of a short clip.

But, it would be nice if you could pop around again to test yourself, been about 2 years?
__________________
Thanks,
Wayne.
Wayne Kinney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 21st, 2007, 03:22 PM   #25
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 195
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jon Wolding View Post
In both clips, there's a weird black outline on objects when they're in focus (wheat, left side of the man's jaw, right sleeve of t-shirt, etc.) they're in the frame grabs as well... what's causing that? The camera?
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wayne Kinney View Post
Not too sure what you are refering to?
The only reason I noticed it in the first place is because it comes and goes.
Attached Thumbnails
Various SGpro topics-jawline.jpg   Various SGpro topics-grass.jpg  

Various SGpro topics-tshirt.jpg  
Jon Wolding is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 21st, 2007, 03:26 PM   #26
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Brighton, East Sussex, UK
Posts: 938
Gotcha!

The sharpness setting on the FX1 is set to 12, maybe its too high.
__________________
Thanks,
Wayne.
Wayne Kinney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 21st, 2007, 03:55 PM   #27
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 195
Sounds like the culprit for the black edge and the bokeh grain.
Jon Wolding is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 21st, 2007, 04:05 PM   #28
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Brighton, East Sussex, UK
Posts: 938
Yeah, default is 8 (middle), i set it to 12, months ago, when i first got the FX1.

Maybe beyond the cams ability, huh?
__________________
Thanks,
Wayne.
Wayne Kinney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 21st, 2007, 04:14 PM   #29
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 195
I've never been impressed with Sony's affordable line.
Jon Wolding is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 21st, 2007, 09:49 PM   #30
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Hollywood, CA
Posts: 1,675
Images: 1
And I've always been impressed with the SGpro. Really fantastic work Wayne. I'd be an owner long ago if I didn't have a vendetta against The Box design (shudder). Keep the sharpness at or below the 8 setting, and you should be fine.
__________________
BenWinter.com
Ben Winter is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Special Interest Areas > Alternative Imaging Methods

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:59 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network