Pro Res versus Neoscene - Naming clips, etc at

Go Back   DV Info Net > High Definition Video Acquisition > AVCHD Format Discussion

AVCHD Format Discussion
Inexpensive High Definition H.264 encoding to DVD, Hard Disc or SD Card.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old May 19th, 2010, 06:33 AM   #1
New Boot
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Ann Arbor, MI
Posts: 22
Pro Res versus Neoscene - Naming clips, etc

Hi All,

About to order a Panasonic HMC150. One concern for me is transcoding. The time element slighly concerns me, but what concerns me more is being able to name clips for FCP.

I have Neoscene for my PC (editing with SV) but the AVI files it creates will not import into a Mac/FCP (only plays audio - no video).

When transcoded to Pro Res will I be stuck with clip#1, clip#2, and so on or can I rename the clips?

I know there's Neoscene for Macs and I was considering that just based on the fact that it makes .mov files that I can rename outside of FCP and then import them in.

Furthermore, does a faster SD (class 6 or 10) decrease the time it takes to transcode or is that all on the Mac processor? Also, is buying one of those USB SD card readers faster than going through a USB cable from the camera itself?


Tim Lawrence is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 19th, 2010, 10:54 AM   #2
Inner Circle
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Elk Grove CA
Posts: 6,838
Not a Mac User-PC only. As far as Neoscene conversion, I use a card reader to transfer my raw files to my computer, then convert from there. Conversion time is much faster. I usually convert to same hard drive that I have transferred files to-- into a subfolder in the same directory. Through the camera, is slower, in my opinion. Oh, be sure to get the newest card readers... their spec are much faster. I bought a Targus at Walmart, and it is much faster than a PC on board reader I have on my Dell XP420
Chris J. Barcellos
Chris Barcellos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 19th, 2010, 12:43 PM   #3
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Coronado Island
Posts: 1,441
I only use PC as well, but my Cineform products (Prospect HD, Neo 4K) will convert to either .avi, or mov., or will "rewrap" avi to mov, or vice versa.
I'm thinking if you are going to use the CF codec on your Mac, even if you are importing the files from elsewhere, you will probably need to have the CF product installed for the Mac/FCP to be able to use the files.
Robert Young is offline   Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

Omega Broadcast
(512) 251-7778
Austin, TX

(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

(800) 238-8480
Glendale, CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > High Definition Video Acquisition > AVCHD Format Discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:47 PM.

DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2015 The Digital Video Information Network