Avid, HDV and DNxHD questions. at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Avid Editing Family

Avid Editing Family
All flavors of Media Composer, Symphony and more.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old January 6th, 2007, 05:53 PM   #1
New Boot
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Perth Australia
Posts: 13
Avid, HDV and DNxHD questions.

Have recently been researching various Avid Xpress Pro HDV workflows and while there are no shortage of opinions on the best method of handling HDV in the Avid environment, some questions related to the nuts and bolts of practical editing of HDV in Avid seem always to go unanswered in other forums.

My questions for the boffins among the readership are:

1) Avid claims that transcoding captured HDV footage using the DNxHD codec maintains integrity of picture quality across several 'generations' i.e. video mixdowns, multi-layered effects et al; and that when a timeline is archived back out to HDV tape, image quality is not degraded in comparison to original footage. Is this true or merely company hype?

2) If any among the readership are successfully editing in the HD domain in Avid Xpress Pro (latest version running under Windows XP Professional SP2), what are the specifications of your system with regard to CPU, RAM and graphics card?

3) what format do you archive to in HD? i.e. tape? HDD (if so what file format, m2t? AVI? WMV HD?)? Data DVD or Data BluRay?

Any help greatly appreciated.

cheers.
Lester Marston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 6th, 2007, 06:04 PM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 590
DNxHD uses 4:2:2 Color Sampling while HDV uses 4:2:0. Even though no information is gained in the transcode, the DNxHD will hold up better upon rendering and generation loss.

I use a Powerbook G4, 1.33GHZ, 2 Gigs of Ram.
Steve Benner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 7th, 2007, 09:34 AM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Kelowna BC Canada
Posts: 706
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lester Marston
3) what format do you archive to in HD? i.e. tape? HDD (if so what file format, m2t? AVI? WMV HD?)? Data DVD or Data BluRay?
I've been mastering back to tape using the "Export to HDV Device" command. Since you can use the option that also saves the resulting m2t file, I've been archiving that by burning that file to CD/DVD.
__________________
www.ascentfilms.com
Jiri Bakala is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 7th, 2007, 04:47 PM   #4
New Boot
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Perth Australia
Posts: 13
Steve & Jiri, thanks for taking the time to help.
Lester Marston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 16th, 2007, 12:18 AM   #5
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 244
Here's a link to the Avid Xpress Pro System Requirements:
http://www.avid.com/products/xpresspro/specs.asp

Its best not to deviate from the avid specs unless you have a lot of free time on your hands.

We've been putting in 4 gig of ram minimum in recent builds.
Terry Nixon is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Avid Editing Family

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:26 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network