Multi-core hyperthreading with Avid Liquid 7.2? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Avid Editing Family

Avid Editing Family
All flavors of Media Composer, Symphony and more.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old May 15th, 2007, 08:18 AM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Forest Park, IL
Posts: 108
Multi-core hyperthreading with Avid Liquid 7.2?

Does anyone know if Avid Liquid 7.2 is able to take advantage of more than two processor cores? How hyperthreaded is it?
Stephen Knapp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 15th, 2007, 01:17 PM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Houston
Posts: 789
Yes. It really takes advantage of 2nd core by allowing background rendering of effects. Most effects I can still play/edit while effects are rendering. Very robust form the hyperthreading standpoint.
__________________
David Parks: DP/Editor: Jacobs Aerospace at NASA Johnson Space Center
https://www.youtube.com/user/JacobsESCG
David Parks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 15th, 2007, 06:25 PM   #3
Trustee
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Suwanee, GA
Posts: 1,241
It will not multi-core everything, but as David said. Example, it may only render a single time-warp at a time. It will multi-render 2D CPU effects (A resized of stills that you drop on each). And GPU... single threaded as you probably only have one core ;)
George Ellis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 15th, 2007, 10:22 PM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Forest Park, IL
Posts: 108
Quote:
Originally Posted by George Ellis View Post
It will not multi-core everything, but as David said. Example, it may only render a single time-warp at a time. It will multi-render 2D CPU effects (A resized of stills that you drop on each). And GPU... single threaded as you probably only have one core ;)
What portion of 8 cores would it be likely to use? Does it perhaps max out at four?

Stephen
Stephen Knapp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 16th, 2007, 04:39 AM   #5
Trustee
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Suwanee, GA
Posts: 1,241
I have run 4 cores at 100% (Ken Burns'ing stills into a 720p movie.) I suspect it can use 8 doing that. I also use Tsunami for encoding and it will use everything it can find (but throttles better). I am now on a dual core system. While faster, sometimes I misses the depth of my dual Xeon (major mobo IDE chipset problem retired it).
George Ellis is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Avid Editing Family

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:17 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network