Sony FS700 + Hyperdeck Shuttle 2? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > External Video Recording Solutions > BlackMagic Design HyperDeck Shuttle


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old January 28th, 2013, 08:41 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Singapore
Posts: 102
Sony FS700 + Hyperdeck Shuttle 2?

Hi guys, a couple of questions about the BMD Hyperdeck Shuttle 2.

It's going to be the first recorder I might use for a green screen shoot on my FS700, and the questions are:

1) Must I shoot uncompressed quicktime? Or can I shoot with Prores 422 HQ to save some space?

2) Is there anything I must buy apart from a SDI cable and the SSD to be able to use it on the FS700?

3) Can I shoot progressive 24p / 25p / 30p?

4) Can I shoot 50p/60p?

5) There's no lanc connection, that means that I'll have to start/stop record by pressing the button on the recorder?

Thanks for all your help!

Zexun
Zexun Tan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 28th, 2013, 11:56 PM   #2
Trustee
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 1,055
Re: Sony FS700 + Hyperdeck Shuttle 2?

With the hyperdeck shuttle 2 you have four formats: Uncompressed QuickTime, ProRes QuickTime, DNxHD QuickTime and DNxHD MXF (for Avid). I haven't green screen butyou should do your own tests to be sure of the quality you need. I think ProRes would be fine.

You will need the SDI Cable BNC Male to DIN 1.0/2.3 RG-179. I bought mine from this ebay seller Blackmagic HyperDeck Shuttle SDI Cable BNC F to DIN 1.0/2.3 RG-179 Cable, 8". | eBay but you have to ask them to put a male BNC connector on it, not the female connector they normally install.

You will also obviously need a compatible SSD hard drive for the deck, I am using an OCZ Vertex solid state 500GB hard drive. It's all working really good so far with my F3.

You can shoot up to 1080 30p, or 720 60p, but not 1080 60p.

The deck can be triggered to start and stop recording using timecode if your FS700 has the feature to enable it through SDI.
Dennis Hingsberg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 30th, 2013, 12:23 AM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Singapore
Posts: 102
Re: Sony FS700 + Hyperdeck Shuttle 2?

Thanks for the reply Dennis!

Yes indeed I'm very much more interested in the 4:2:2 aspect rather than the increased bit rate, so I think prores should do.

Have you seen any known-brand cables similar to the link you posted? We're a non-profit team doing a face-morphing project for national TV / viewership, so we're trying to get everything officially locked down from sponsors.

I definitely understand about the compatible SSDs. I have the list of approved SSDs with me!

Noted about the 24p/25p/30p yes, 50p/60p no.

Is the feature you're talking about called smth along the lines of "timecode through output"?

Also, is the footage from the FS700/F3 direct-to-edit in final cut pro 7? I've been hearing confusing things about some 3:2 pulldown or something along those lines. Not sure what it is!
Zexun Tan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 30th, 2013, 08:26 AM   #4
Trustee
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 1,055
Re: Sony FS700 + Hyperdeck Shuttle 2?

Yes you will probably enjoy the footage from the deck no matter which codec option you chose, my very short tests revealed they all came pretty close to each other and it will always be slightly better than what you can record internally with the camera codec.

"timecode through output" rings a bell. Make sure you install the BlackMagic Hyperdeck software utility and there you can select your trigger recording option, either "when SDI start/stop is detected" or "when SDI timecode runs".

In your camera you want to turn any options on that enable timecode through SDI for it to work, and BIG NOTE after you select a recording format and update your shuttle deck, after it is finished updating make sure you press STOP on the deck or you will drive yourself CRAZY trying to trigger the deck. I found out that by default the deck is in playback mode, so by pressing STOP when you first power it up or update the settings through the utility you will then be able to trigger the recording. I drove myself mad when I was testing difererent formats and coudln't trigger the deck.

BHphotovideo sells the SDI cable you need, so maybe you can acuire it through them. They are around $15 or so.

I have heard nothing about 3:2 pulldown sorry, but I tested my clips in both Windows 7 Adobe Premiere 64-bit, and OS Lion Final Cut Pro 10 without any issues. You will need a Avid codec download if you intend to work with the DNX QuickTime format but if I were you just stick with ProRes.
Dennis Hingsberg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 30th, 2013, 01:05 PM   #5
New Boot
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Brno, Czech Republic
Posts: 10
Re: Sony FS700 + Hyperdeck Shuttle 2?

You have to choose your cables carefully.
This one does not work: Belden 1505A, 3G SDI DIN1.0/2.3 to BNC Male Video Adapter Cable
Belden 1505A 3G SDI DIN1 0 2 3 to BNC Male Video Adapter Cable Yellow 4 Ft | eBay
Petr Volgemut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 30th, 2013, 01:11 PM   #6
Trustee
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 1,055
Re: Sony FS700 + Hyperdeck Shuttle 2?

Yes good to point out the SDI cable should be RG-179 not RG-59, maybe that was problem?

The one I mentioned I bought worked well but I asked vendor to install a male BNC instead of female and increase length to 10 inches.

Blackmagic Hyperdeck Shuttle SDI Cable BNC F to DIN 1 0 2 3 RG 179 Cable 8" | eBay
Dennis Hingsberg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 1st, 2013, 01:44 AM   #7
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Singapore
Posts: 102
Re: Sony FS700 + Hyperdeck Shuttle 2?

Detailed reply there, muchas gracias!

Blackmagic Design HyperDeck Shuttle 2 SSD Video HYPERD/PT2 B&H

on bhphoto, the recommended accessory is this:

Pro Video Accessories - BNC Female to DIN 1.0/2.3 RG-59 SDI Cable - 1'

with a male to male adapter to BNC.

Would that be a correct one or not?

And on that note, there's no way to delete footage on the recorder itself, right?

Last edited by Zexun Tan; February 1st, 2013 at 02:44 AM.
Zexun Tan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 1st, 2013, 09:03 AM   #8
Trustee
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 1,055
Re: Sony FS700 + Hyperdeck Shuttle 2?

If BHphoto is endorsing this cable as compatable, then it shouldn't matter if the cable is RG-179 or RG-59. I'm not sure why the one Petr mentioned didn't work.

But that cable BHphotovideo is selling has a male BNC connector on it if you look carefully, which is the same connector (male) you have on your FS700 so you would need to buy a female to female coupler. For $15 I would just ask that vendor to build you one with a female BNC so it can go straight onto the camera but that is just my opinion.

The only way I know to delete footage on the BMC is through the computer once you remove the SSD from shuttle deck and hook it up to your computer. If you're using a Windows based PC like I am, you will need a utility to allow you to read MAC formatted disks. A PC will not read the SSD hard drive without the utility.
Dennis Hingsberg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 2nd, 2013, 09:36 AM   #9
New Boot
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Brno, Czech Republic
Posts: 10
Re: Sony FS700 + Hyperdeck Shuttle 2?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Petr Volgemut View Post
You have to choose your cables carefully.
This one does not work: Belden 1505A, 3G SDI DIN1.0/2.3 to BNC Male Video Adapter Cable
Belden 1505A 3G SDI DIN1 0 2 3 to BNC Male Video Adapter Cable Yellow 4 Ft | eBay
Unfortunatelly I found out that my cable was broken but normally this kind of cable works! I received a message from BMD that cables must comply to SMPTE 259M, SMPTE 292M. There is a female SDI connector on Sony FS700, you need MALE BNC on your cable, you will find many different suitable custom made Belden cables on ebay.
Petr Volgemut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 2nd, 2013, 11:14 AM   #10
Trustee
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 1,055
Re: Sony FS700 + Hyperdeck Shuttle 2?

ok that is good clarification, so it means either RG59 or RG179 can be used. I think RG59 is the thicker cable type whereas the RG179 I am using is very thin and seems a little more flexible.
Dennis Hingsberg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 11th, 2013, 01:18 PM   #11
Trustee
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 1,055
Re: Sony FS700 + Hyperdeck Shuttle 2?

Here is my final rig configuration:

Dennis Hingsberg is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > External Video Recording Solutions > BlackMagic Design HyperDeck Shuttle

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:27 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network